beleaguered in bahrain


Advertisement
Bahrain's flag
Middle East » Bahrain » Madinat 'Isa
February 2nd 2010
Published: February 5th 2010
Edit Blog Post

So I wake up early in the morning on Saturday the 31st January in Sarah's halls (thanks sarah) and wondered around London until meeting Sofia and eating way too much Pret food because we were both to scared to venture into the cheap looking Pub called ''Dirty Dicks''. Got the tube to Terminal 4, checked in and everything was going smoothly, I even treated myself to a Starbucks panini.

Plane journey to Bahrain was okay, watched Up again, slept a little and marvelled at the free socks and sleeping mask (that was going to be your surprise present, sorry Laura). Stayed in Bahrain for a couple of hours until I could get a flight to Delhi, got 3 seats all to myself and read up on Arab hip hop artist... apparently they are getting quite popular.

I was all confident albeit tired when I reached customs, and even had a little moan with the guy next to me about the people who were taking too long to fill in their immigration forms. ''They know how to ruin your day'' he joked...and yes, yes they do.

When the man behind the counter said ''No. You can't come in,'' I simply couldn't believe it. I was led into a little room where you can see out, but no one can see in. People came and went discussing my situation in Hindi, and the next thing I knew I was being told that I they had got me a place on the flight back to Bahrain, where my luggage would be sent to the next day, ''you have friends to stay with in Bahrain?'' they asked. NOOOO. but they really didn't seem to care, so I was led along minus my passport, then made to run to get onto the next plane. I refused to get on the plane until they gave me back my passport (which they had forgotten they had) they insisted I could easily get onto a plane to London once I got to Bahrain.

Of course it was the same cabin crew that were on the plane I flew in on, so I was welcomed with strange looks. I spent most of the flight wondering where my luggage was and if I'd see it again any time soon. Once in Bahrain I spoke to the Gulf Air officials and they insisted that if I wanted to get home I would have to pay $500 and they also knew nothing about my luggage. I refused so ended up spending more time that I would have wished in a country I had previously never heard of. I bought a tshirt, some Arab soft drinks, Mc cafe (aka Mc Donalds) and endless amounts off coffee. I made friends with an Egyptian man in the airport who kept me company for the time that I couldn't get on one of the many free computers dotted about the duty free section.

I dont know exactly how long I spent there, but soon it was all resolved (with the help of my mum) and I was on a flight home to London. Baggage not there, but I filed a complaint and they said it would be back in England in a matter of days. Stayed with a friend in Kentish Town, who fed me and allowed me to collapse into a coma until my mum arrived. We went to the Indian embassy the next day and queued for many hours with lots of people in similar situations, none of them however had actually got all the way to India before they found out. HA! Anyway, it was all an interesting experience...the embassy still have my passport and now the decision is in their hands. If they are kind, they I may be able to fly back on the 8th, if they are not, then I will have to wait until the 13th.

Thanks to everyone for making this Christmas so special and fun. I look forward to having an excellent summer with you all. Keep in touch, and I promise I will actually be leaving the country some time soon.

xXx



Advertisement



Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0647s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb