Flights of Fancy


Advertisement
Europe
July 5th 2017
Published: July 9th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Hi all,

Finally have gotten around to updating my blog, courtesy of my friend's laptop in Euskirchen in Germany.

I am going to pop in the blog entries I have written in my physical diary to cover up until this point.

I feel as though I need to write about the horrendously long flight from New Zealand to Heathrow Airport London. I've always enjoyed the notion of flying and seeing all the massive airports . The uncertainty of what to do at the big airports was somewhat daunting, however. I must say that I went through almost painlessly..except for the security (second security check might I add!) at Dubai Airport. Upon alighting in Dubai, I was first struck by the blanket of humidity that hung over the place like an oppressive pall. Getting out of the plane we took a shuttle to Terminal 3. Emirates has it's own terminal, and it is absolutely massive. The shuttle over made me realize just how large this airport was. I could see in the distance various buildings, but the smog was rather shrouding the place. It is certainly a city I'd like to explore one day. I met some lovely people on my plane of whom I befriended throughout the journey which made the journey feel more homely. The A380 Airbus was such a massive plane. The first time I saw the plane it looked ridiculously massive. There was ample leg room though, and the in-flight entertainment was quite good. I think I managed a meagre 4 hours sleep over the 20 odd hour flights. Going through Passport Control in London was horrendous, as the queues were incredibly long. Got through quickly, they quizzed me a tad on where I was going and how much I had booked etc. Awaiting my arrival was my Uncle Albert and cousin, Rhiannon. They drove me back home and I was quite amused by the road names and how different the housing was. Upon arriving at my family's abode in Hampton, I revelled in the fact I was in a new country and was reunited with my family of whom I very rarely see. We sat outside and had a wine and delicious Lebanese dinner, and I eventually crashed out at 10pm, looking forward to the delights that London was surely to bring.

Advertisement



9th July 2017

Well deserved wine!
Well done for conquering all that.

Tot: 0.195s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0406s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb