Hello from VIE


Advertisement
Europe
September 21st 2010
Published: September 21st 2010
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Coach is Not Amused 12 secs
2: The Bells! 6 secs
3: On the Danube 4 secs
4: Windmills on the Danube 6 secs
5: This Bird is Flying at Over 70km! 13 secs
6: Hund! 9 secs
Hello from Vienna!
Well it took 2 sunrises and 2 sunsets but I finally got here (I am not kidding!).
Vienna is lovely. Very picturesque which makes it easy to take photos!
It is wonderful to stroll around for hours. The city is well laid out so you can access the sites easily on foot. If you feel hungry there are lots and lots of cafes to stop in. Among them is a cafe called 'Demel' (ask TQ) where I enjoyed THE most delicious apfelstrudel...oh I wish that apfelstrudel was a day long. Aside from that there are lots of old buildings and monuments...you know...cuz of all the history I guess รถ...😉 . Yesterday I took a boat down the Danube (which seemed more greenish then blue) to Bratislava and back. It was a wonderful sunny day and a lovely cruise down this amazing river. I am unable to add photos from where I am right now. Will try to add more later (I have come to rely on the photos telling the story hence the short entry). Now I am at the airport in Vienna waiting to board for Munich to meet Wade (YES...he made it to Munchkin 😉 and
mmmm....mmmm....mmmm....

apfelstrudel
Oktoberfest. Prost und Auf Wiedersehen!

Catch up...lounge reviews.
YVR (US departures) - love it...as always 9 out of 10...no other can compare!
HOU - was a Continental lounge (for this Continental airline airport hub). Lounge was typical US lounge in that it was over crowded with not enough conveniences or amenities. I will give 2 points over a United lounge though. They offered complimentary beer (a ya...) and the woman behind it was fantastic. I rate it 4 out of 10).
LHR Terminal 1 - was a Star Alliance lounge (swish swish). Actually it was ok. I probably would have liked it more if they were NOT serving breakfast. I happily said 'yes please' to the shower...ahhhh. There were no windows and 2 out of 4 gratis computers were down (and Linux...what?!). On the plus side they have good magazines (hello Wallpaper). I give it 5 out of 10.
MUN Terminal 2 - now this was a nice lounge (actually there were 2). Open, bright, staff were great (danke champagne!). Not too many windows but still had an airy feel about it. There were lots of computers available. The food...well when I arrived it was the first day of
I Feel Bad for These WomenI Feel Bad for These WomenI Feel Bad for These Women

on camera and next to the wc
Oktoberfest. And since Munich is Oktoberfest mecca they had it all spread out for the celebration. Good for others...not so good for me as all I could really partake in was the pretzels. Still...for the spirit and everything else considered. 7 out of 10.
VIE Terminal 1 - its...ok. Again...only breakfast is available. The bones are obviously old but they have done a pretty good job to spruce it up. There are computers but as I mentioned I cannot get them to connect my camera (they are really locked down). I give it 5 out of 10.


Additional photos below
Photos: 36, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Puppet DoctorPuppet Doctor
Puppet Doctor

No icecream!
A City SquareA City Square
A City Square

monument to the plague!
City CafeCity Cafe
City Cafe

fooooood


Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0508s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb