8 Really Cool Things I've Done in 18 Months.


Advertisement
Europe
September 19th 2010
Published: September 19th 2010
Edit Blog Post

My mom thinks I need to keep using the number eight in posts, so I figured I'd go along with it. Yesterday I was skyping with Parker and staring at the background on my computer, which is a picture from Mexico, when I realized I've done some pretty cool things. I always play down what I've done, I know people who have travelled more than me, and on a day to day basis I don't think what I've done is that spectacular, but really what I've done in such a short time is pretty frickin awesome. I left the country for the first time in March of 2009, and here is a list of eight really amazing things I've been lucky enough to experience. Basically I'm just going to brag.

1. I rode a zipline across the tree tops of a rainforest in Costa Rica.

2. I walked through Frida Kahlo's house and saw not only her paintings, but her collections and her full body casts. I love museums, but something about being in the house, walking up the stairs, holding the railing, brings you so much closer.

3. On the same day I went through Leon Trotsky's
Pyramid of the SunPyramid of the SunPyramid of the Sun

Second biggest Pyramid in the New World
Mexican refuge, I saw the bullet holes in the walls from the first attempt on his life, and I saw the room where he was killed and his grave. It was incredible

4. Mexico was full of history, I also climbed two of the biggest pyramids in the New World, and looked out from the top at the alley of death and surrounding cacti.

5. I saw Buckingham Palace, alone, in the rain, and on a day where there was no changing of the guards. Basically I got the world's worst experience of Buckingham Palace, but I loved it.

6.I rode a train across the German countryside and saw houses that look like Waldsee, and a Castle nestled into the hills. Cliched and fantastic trip through germany. (also on the list of awesome train rides, the train from downtown London to London-Stansted airport. Nothing really interesting about it, except I felt like I was on the Hogwarts express!)

7. Barcelona. Just, everything about it. 3rd biggest city in the world, seeing FCB stadium, the castle, the art, the churches, Gaudi, being in the port where Columbus left and returned. Just an epic, beautiful city.

8. Every few days I venture downtown to shop in Casco Viejo. This means that every few days, I walk the streets of El Encierro, San Fermin, or The Running of the Bulls. How frickin cool is that? I mean really, its just cool. I won't be here for the actual celebration, but just knowing I walk the streets, knowing that I could possibly watch a Travel Channel show on it and say, 'I've been there, I've shopped there, I know that statue!' makes it so cool.

I hope you all enjoyed my little bragging session, I'll talk about something more interesting when I'm healthy again!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.269s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0374s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb