Spainalicious


Advertisement
Europe
February 19th 2010
Published: February 19th 2010
Edit Blog Post

As I sit in the dungeon of our hostel I am happy that we are checking out and flying into London today. Besides the fact that we are yet again embarking on a new adventure, we are also leaving this hostel which we have grown to hate more and more every day. I am sleepy from being woken by the noise of every move on our matresses, which sound like they are covered in plastic but in reality have springs which Im sure were intended for use other than in a bed. That combined with the fact that we have had to put up with the most inconsiderate room buddies in a dorm of 14 people, is a recipe for sleep deprivation. I smell. Oh boy do I smell... and not because I enjoy offending people with my sausage-like odour, but because the showers are freezing and the cubicles are so tiny they require coordination beyond the capabilities of an octopus to stop your towel and clothes from becoming drenched. I chose sausage odour thankyou.

Other than Hostel from hell, Madrid has been amazing. We have shopped so much that I am certain we have burnt off all that Haagen Dasz icecream and Chocolate Churros. We have tried Tapas, which were actually not as good as I thought they would be. Especially when our garlic prawns were served with baby eels, but hey when in Madrid!

Yesterday we went to Segovia which is 1.5 hours out of the city, to see the castle which inspired the Walt Disney logo. It was such a pretty town but so so cold. We had lasagna at one of the small restaraunts and when we complained the lasagna sheets weren´t cooked, the chef came out and told us that it was meant to be that way. Whilst I sat and pretended to enjoy my raw pasta sheets I was sure glad I didnt get the spaghetti.

Our day trip was followed by a night at a flamenco show, conveniently 2 doors down from our hostel. As we nibbled on our Iberian Meat platter and sipped on our sangria we couldnt help but feel like we were topping off our trip to Madrid, it definately beat the baby eels. After much stomping and clapping and commenting loudly at the couple in front of us that had gone way over the top on their public display of affection, we left and retired to bed in a sangria daze.

So here we are, all packed and ready to set off on our last stop before home. I´ve already unleashed some type of shopping demon from within and intend to pack my bag (and extra carry on which we purchased to accomodate our shopping) to its full capacity and weight limit with new clothes and shoes before coming home. I am not anticipating the cold but am sure ready to have a shower in our hotel room. And having discovered my obsession with food (i´m sorry Emily for basing our days around breakfast, lunch, dinner and dessert) I am also loooking forward to the buffet breakfast which will mean more food in my belly and more money in my shopping account.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.293s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0358s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb