Pilgrim Routine


Advertisement
Europe
September 2nd 2009
Published: September 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hola
Seems ages since I last wrote. I am travelling well and like many of us, am now into a regular daily routine. At about 5.30 am onwards people start stirring and by about 6.15am just about everyone in the albergue is up and going. By about 7.00 am we are ready to set off having washed faces etc, packed the pack yet again and checked that we have twoels, hand washing from night before and of course, our walking sticks!

Some actually prepare breakfast before they leave but we have takne to walking about 4-6 kms before stopping ofr a cafe con leche and fresh croissant at the first village bar. It´s a great waty to start a new day, especially if you are luicky enough to be early and see the sun rising. Mind you this means looking back as we are generally walking south with the sun at our backs. After our breakfast stop, quite a social occasion as all gather at varous times here, we move on to the next village and its bar (read cafe not alcohol type bar!!!!)

If possible we stop by ariver for lunch... again some are super organised wiht a picnic type lunch of bread, salami and cheese. I prefer not to eat too much as it is very hot and I would rather wait till dinner.

The walking is sometimes hard. today was magic though as I must admit to sending my pack on as my leg/hip was starting to hurt. Rather than have a lay day we have all continued walking but taking it slower and wiht more stops... a great way to travel.

We all gradually arrive at the lsat village stop for the day and find the albergue for the night. Last night was sheer luxury as 5 of us shared a private albergue or town house. I slept in my own bed wiht sheets!!!! The window was kept wide open so for the first time here I had no snorers to keep me awake and lots of fresh air in the room... luxury plus!

Once we have registered, had our passport (credential) stamped etc we the usually shower, do some hadnwashing and then find a good spot to share conversation, a cervesa (beer) or kallimocha (red wine with coke!) and lots of chat about the day that´s been and what´s ahead tomorrow. Siesta means we have to wait to about 7.30 or 8.oopm for the menu del dia or menu de peregrinos... but we all survive. In some towns pilgrims go off to mass at 7.00pm.

It really has become a way of ñlife.

Chick and Bill.... you will both need to really slow donw when you arrive to enjoy this. Its sooooo amazing.

Today we are in a little village called Azofra and the albergue has this cute little pool or wading pond. We have all gathered there to cool our feet.

Hope all is well there... its very warm but yes, lots of fun here.

Adios!
karen

Advertisement



2nd September 2009

Red wine and coke???
Arrrgh, that doesn't sound too inviting :) Otherwise sounds like you are having a great time. Nothing new here so you are not missing anything. Keep up the good work. Cheers Janette
2nd September 2009

hi Karen, I am loving your blog. What a fabulous way to keep us all in touch with how you are going. Somehow seems so real, rather than just hearing when you get back. Saw Judy last night, she is a keen reader too. Sounds like you are doing so well, keep it up! (Glad to hear, though, that you really are a little bit human like the rest of us - sending the pack ahead was a good move!) luv 'n thoughts, Carol xx
2nd September 2009

I am working overtime on the net travelling every step with you. Your story so far I have read many times from other pilgrims who have gone before you. Lots of love. Dad
3rd September 2009

We're all following your journey. In so many ways its a completely other world. Keep enjoying the moments .Suck it all in! Closer to home, we had a terrific birthday for Nic. He is speaking really well with beautiful diction. Thankyou again for your gift and thoughts. Spoke to Dad today He is well and following your journey intensely. We all send our luv. Travel safe. With you in spirit.
3rd September 2009

It all sounds very oprganised and so inspiring. Everytime I go walking I am thinking of you and imagining I am on the walk. The hills of Narara are not quite the same as Spain I know but I don have a good imagination. What an experience! Spoke about your achievements at Covey today - all were amazed. See even from Spain you still help me. Keep it up!!!!! Cheers
3rd September 2009

Buenos Dias, Senora Karen
Hola! How are you going? More importantly, how are the feet holding out? It sounds like you are truly having a magnificent experience!! No doubt, life-changing, will certainly give you a different perspective upon life as you used to see it. You must be meeting a wonderful, like-minded array of felloe-travellers along the way. You're dead right, it's the journey which is the most important thing, not the final destination. But I'm sure you and Bill will certainly be placing a great deal of importance/excitement when the end finally comes. keep enjoying! Pam march
3rd September 2009

one more sleep
Tonight is the nig last night at home so all the last minute jobs hopefully will get done. My neighbours just gave me a "1 hour" dinner which included a glass of wine - not sure if that was a good idea as it sure slowed me down, but I hope not too much. I better go,I better get the car packed and everything done. Lots of love my dear friend, Chick
4th September 2009

Sounds Fantastic
Karen what an inspiration you are. The trip sounds hard but fantastic..your blogs will inspire others and nest year there will be a rush in people wanting to go.!! I am eagerly awaiting a new grand child in the next few days. Dorothy

Tot: 0.295s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0944s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb