Wow a difference th sun makes!


Advertisement
Europe
August 26th 2009
Published: August 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hola! Wow what a day it´s been today! We walked just 21 kms but it´s still very hard going especially all the down hill bits. We are still amongst the mountains and ascending hills along the way... funny enough that means we have to then go down those hills... some of them are more than hills and descents are really steep (reminds me of our Great North Walk , guys!).

Typically (said after just 2 days) we arrive at our destination and the search is one for an albergue (hostel) but there seems to be really no worry as room after room at our municipal one keep being opened up for all arrivals. I reckon there´s about 110 pilgrims on our part of the trek at the moment. We all styaed in the one and only albergue last night at Roncesvalles (after the great climb). What a sight... lots of washing hung out to dry everywhere! (And yes PAm even thought the passport was safe in abag it still got wet... that´s how hard it pured yesterday!)

Last night we all enjoyed a pilgrim meal en masse... try feeding 120 people all at once. It was delicious! Included fish and chips!!!!! Well lunch had not been had as it was too wet to stop anywhere. Tonight it´s a catch and cook your own... siesta is almost over so will go check out the eateries.

My legs are holding out although a good masseur good make a fortune here!

Didin´t tell you the best part about arriving in Zubiri today... beautiful little river to soak the tired feet... wonderful for the feet and just as wonderful for the soul as i sat and watched my fellow pilgrims arriving, walking into the town over the medieval bridge. Superb! Yes I do have some photos but I can´t upload them on these computers (No, it´s not just me my iCT buddies... there really is nowhere to put in the memory stick ).

Gotta go... my time is amost up. The life of a pilgrim... onto the shops for food for brekkie and lunch tomorrow, fill the water bottles in the cool fountains and find dinner.... already done the washing which is drying so quickly in this amzing sunshine! (glad i ditched that beanie, Colin!)

Off to Pamplona tomorrow... shouldn´t be quite so steep, either up or down with some rivers to cross and a little bit of main road to navigate.

Thanks for keeping in touch... love your comments.
Adios!



Advertisement



26th August 2009

Marrawah and beyond
The ying-yang of life. Your crossing over incredibly high mountains, drinking from the fountains of youth and waters that have gouged the passages of time. From kitchen to lounge room we've made homemade play doh and shaping the minds of little one's to conquer their own quests and ambitions. Have a really good day! All our luv.
26th August 2009

Keep on Trekking
Well done. Never doubted all that "Curves" training would get you in good form. Sounds like an amazing experience. Love reading your blog, makes it easy for us to picture you in action. Sheryl
26th August 2009

Photos
Well done - hopefully there are some photos of the stream and your feet as well as the pilgrims crossing the bridge. Some journey in so many ways!!
27th August 2009

Am beginning to feel guilty staying in a 4 star hotel just outside quebec city with Lara and new grandson. Had some great tapas last time I was in Pamplona. (remember driving, not walking) Enjoy. What a fabulous experience you're having.
27th August 2009

Hola
Glad you're having such a wonderful time Karen. Your enthusiasm is infectious...I want to be there (more in spirit than in kms), so I'll put white light around you for continued safe journeying.x
27th August 2009

hello
Hi Karen, It was wonderfull to read your entry tonight, and to be able to picture your day. Thankyou for taking the time to write on your blog. It sounds as if the weather is quite warm - has that been a problem with the clothes? How is the language going? are you managing? You sound, as I expected, to be extremely organized and managing everything very well. Good on you girl! Lots of love my darling, Chick
27th August 2009

Buenos Dias
Hola! Com estas you intrepid warrior! The views must be breath-taking, not to mention the steep ascents being a little breath-taking in places too. Throughly enjoying your travelogue. Pam
28th August 2009

wow your now a pilgrim
sounds like a fabulous experience. More pilgrims than i thought there would be. I wonder if the numbers will thin out? Miss you lots
28th August 2009

You are amazing
Hola! Saludo. I hope that says hi! Sounds like you are raising to the challenge without a problem. It is fantastic to be able to follow your trek. And to think, I thought I was doing really well as on Sunday I did the pub to pub. From Dee Why to the Newport Arms Hotel. 13.25 Km in 2 hours and I was happy with that. I have decided to go in the bridge to bridge now in Sydney. I am looking forward to that but I will think of you if I come to a hill and know that it will pale to insignificance in comparison to what you are up to and it will spur me on to go faster. Other local news is my room at school has just been painted - sky blue. Enough already but here is some encouragement should you need it: "Experience is not what happens to you; it is what you do with what happens to you." ~ Aldous Huxley
29th August 2009

Hi Karen, What a fabulous adventure you are having. I wouldn't dare to criticise the fact that you have no photos. I had a similar experience on my trip in January and still haven't finished uploading photos 7 months later! Take care, Jan

Tot: 0.23s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0567s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb