Eastern Europe - Day 58 - Ulcinj, Montenegro


Advertisement
Europe
June 29th 2009
Published: June 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today we finally left Dubrovnik and headed off towards Montenegro again, on our way to Albania. Unfortunately the first thing that I had to do today was to walk down the 155+ stairs to reach the departure point for the bus. This proved to be somewhat more tricky than I thought it was going to be. Of course I had to wear my funky yellow boots, as they don't fit into my backpack, and putting these high heeled boots together with cobblestoned, steep stairs was possibly not the best idea in the world. Somehow I managed to go over on my right ankle and went tumbling off to the side. I was rather lucky that I did fall over sideways as all that happened was that I fell into the wall, whereas if I had fallen forwards I would have tumbled all the way down the stairs, which would not have been pretty as I was laden down with my backpack and day pack. However it all ended up well with no lasting injuries.

We met up with the rest of the group down at the bottom of the hill in Dubrovnik and headed off on a local bus to the local bus station where we caught our bus to Montenegro. This was a little freaky as we had to retrace our steps and headed back through Kotor and Budva, actually changing buses at the Budva train station where we had been only a few days ago with the other group.

We arrived in Ulcinj at about 5pm (after finally managing to get stamps from Croatia in our passport at the border crossing). Where we are staying tonight is just lovely with Stu, Andrew, Annaleise and I sharing a two bedroom apartment, that has its own lounge and kitchen as well as a balcony that looks out over the ocean. So when we arrived at the accomodation we just had to head out across to the mini mart across the road to purchase some beer to have on the balcony before dinner.

Dinner tonight was in the old town where we sat in a seafood restaurant on a cliff and watched the sunset. Which was rather lovely. However the highlight of the evening had to be the bumper car ride that we took after dinner to celebrate Kirsten's birthday (which was the day before). This was a typical Easter Show bumper car type of ride and was a real hoot with all the local Montenegran kids.

When we got back to the accomodation after dinner it was to discover that a bit of a disco was happening down on the beach below us and it appears that we may be graced with loud Albanian music in our accomodation until the wee hours of the morning. Bless.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0802s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb