Snowball fight.


Advertisement
Europe
November 23rd 2008
Published: January 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Eva...Eva...Eva...

...running away in terror.
This weekend I was in Monschau for a choir trip. It was nothing extraordinary really. Monschau is just a little village near the edge of Aachen, only like an hour long drive. The elevation is higher there though which makes it much more friendly to snow. I never would have guessed that I especially being a North Dakota girl would have been so excited to see even that small amount of snow. The sun was shining and the mountain air made everything amazingly clear and definite. The temperature was perfect for making snowballs, warm enough for the snow to stick together, but cold enough that it didn't melt by the end of the day. The choir group that went this weekend was made up of children from the 5th grade all teh way up to 19 or 20 year olds in the 13th class and all of us were outside. A few people were adequately equiped with gloves hats, and scarves, but most had only light jackets. Although the didn't let that stop them. On saturday we stayed mostly in the area behind the youth hostel where we spent the night. The evening prior, Friday evening, we were in the front area because the only snow that wasn't melting was that which had fallen on the edges of the flower boxes. In between nearly every practice session we would go outside and have a snowball fight or make snow angels or even attempt to build a snowman. Carlos and Sven were the worst challenge that Eva and I had to face. Seriously, I don't understand why boys have to be so persistant on keeping girls in a state of constant ice cold misery. When I got home on Saturday I only had time for quick shower before I had to leave again to visit Monika's sister, Anita, and her family. We all went for coffee and extremely overdone cake that anita's boyfriend had made. They were making fun of him by saying that he even burnt the choclate covered almost he had set out on the table. We brought my host cousin Karo home with us and then to the carnival thing that took pace last night for which my group ahd to dance. That was the last time until January though. We don't have to dance for a crowd at all uring December. I find this a bit of a relief because I had made quite a few slip ups and being the foreign kid I can't affort to have any more unwanted attention.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.304s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1318s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb