Looking to get out of the Box


Advertisement
Europe
September 2nd 2008
Published: September 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Out Of The Box

Tell me that this isnt out of the box?! To get to Taiwan we fly to Holland, Bangkok and then Tapai.

BoatBoatBoat

just before we fell asleep on the boat. we were so tired.
Welcome to my my journey that I have named "looking to get out of the box". After months of planning, dreaming and even leaving my job - Sunday morning Jeff and I walked onto the plane that would eventually get us to Taiwan and China.

For those of you who know me, my fear of flying is a love hate relationship between me, G-d, the pilot and awe of any stewardess who would risk their life to take people from one place to another. So I have to give a moment of thanks to the inventors of a wonderful pill called xanax- for without it the thought of me entering a metal tube would not happen. This note of thanks is important for with out it I am sure I would be sitting in my living room watching another episode of Dr Phil or Oprah.

For the last 23 years we have traveled to many amazing places but always with the kids. I loved traveling with the boys, flying with them was always fun and a bonding experience. Most of the trips were centered around finding food, eating food and where are the chips? Every trip had a theme, The Adventure trip- jumping off clifs in Italy, The Get in Touch with your Gambling self- Las vegas and so on and so on. So when we decided it was time to try it alone I decided the theme of this trip was going to be " looking to get out of the box."

A chill of excitement went through my body , almost a dance , as I entered the airport - ""Jeff , we are actually doing it - can you believe" obviously this thrill turned into panick as i entered the plane and realized that This plane is going to take off and I am not sleeping!!!!

Five hours later we entered the new zone of Amsterdam. Like two teenagers Jeff and i went to buy tickets to the city.

When ever I travel to a new place I always find my first impressions the most important. My first impression of Amsterdam:
We went to buy train tickets so we could go to the city during our 9 hour stopover. As we were paying for the tickets at the booth a man behind us asked the ticket lady at the counter a question. "what train will take us to?? " I just loved the response of this lady! She looked at him and with a voice of detest she said
" Do these people (that's us!) look invisible? How can you interupt me while I am talking to these people? THEY ARE NOT INVISIBLE"!

So to anyone who thought we were invisible - WE ARENT!

I can describe Amsterdam in a few words a Traffic Planners Dream! bikes, cars, pedistrians, boats, trains ... they even have a bike light.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



2nd September 2008

Amster-amster-dam-dam-dam
Do you remember that song as a kid?... If so sing it softly. Enjoy yourselves !
2nd September 2008

great blog..its like im with you..
I love amsterdam..go see Anne Franks house.
2nd September 2008

This is the greatest. We will treasure your blog --every word of it !!! The pictures are incredible --- all of the little tidbits including the bicycle stop light. How was the ship you were on? It looked impressive. So what did you see in Amsterdam besides very respectful people who found you very visible. Did you get to the Anne Frank House? How about Van Gogh's gallery next door? We Love You, Saba and Nana Can't wait until your next chapter.
3rd September 2008

Love your writting, keep it coming....feels like we're all travelling with you. We were in Amsterdam a few years ago, love the pace of that city, and the people are just soooo nice.
10th September 2008

Can you see how green we are? This trip looks unbelievable!

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0275s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb