Short report Scandinavia & Italy


Advertisement
Europe
August 8th 2007
Published: August 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

( Traduzione? Traduccion? www.freetranslation.com )

Hello all,

due to the crash of the database of travelblog.org, I decided to write a short entry about the past month, with a few pictures because all entries from the last 3 months are lost. There is a small possibility that some of the entries will be recovered...I hope so!

On July 6th I left to Copenhagen, Denmark where I spent a few hours and after I took the train to Falkenberg, Sweden. There I spent a weekend with Tommy, a Swedish friend. Then I went to Gotenborg and Stockholm for a few days.

From Stockholm I flew to Rome and I spent 18 days in Italy. I started in Rome, where I visited different sites there like to Colloseum and Vatican City among others and I also met with an Aruban friend Mike Pochettino. Then I went to Campania (south) where I visited Naples, Sorrento, Mount Vesuvius and Pompeii. After this I went back north to Toscana where I visited Florence, San Gimignano and Pisa. After Toscana I went to Cinque Terre (Five Lands) and spent three days in the village Riomaggiore. After this I went to Veneto where I stayed with my Italian friends Luca & Lucia and we visited Venice city and Lago di Garda. I had a very good time in Scandinavia and also in Italy. As I said before, Italy is a country I recommend everyone to visit one day. The country is fabolous and the people are pretty crazy but they're fun and nice! Being in Italy I took advantage of the opportunity to practice some Italian and I learned many many new words, phrases etc. Here in Istria, Croatia, many people speek Italian as well because this part of Croatia used to be Italian before the World War II. There are also many Italian tourists around so I'm still practicing the language around here. Of course Im not fluent at it, but Im able to make myself understandable to others and I do understand a lot now!
In Italy I met many people from many different countries like Australia, Finland, Brazil, New Zealand, Spain, USA, Morocco, Romania among others. Staying at hostels youĺl always meet dozens of people. You exchange email addresses but you'll never manage to stay in touch with all of them although you'd like to. So far I can say that travelling is very nice and kind of addictive, lol. You meet so many different people with different cultures, ways of life and languages....you see a lot, you learn a lot...I can't explain it properly....it's just a very beautiful experience and nobody can ever take those experiences away from you.

Soon I will post my first entry from Croatia, where I'm working on a campingsite for 4 weeks. I arrived here at July 30th and will leave on August 28th. Here it's actually more vacation than work, it's so relaxed and I get paid for it! After Croatia I will be back in Holland for 2 days and then I'll leave Ukraine for 9 days. There I will stay with a ex-schoolmate from Curacao, Sendly Bito, who by coincidence I met last June in Holland after a pretty long time. He is playing football in the capital city of Kyiv (Kiev) and he invited me to come over for a few days. After Ukraine I'll be back in Holland and than I might visit Spain for about 2 weeks (not sure yet). In October I'll go to Australia where I will work & travel for a few months. They've granted me the Work Holiday Visa already. This will be the biggest challange of all. If everything goes as planned I'll be back in Curacao by 2008....although sometimes I like I want to postpone that with 1 year and stay travellling around for a longer time and see more. We'll see....but I really want to go back.

That's all for now. Take care and greetings from sunny Croatia (today it's sunny but the forecasts for the coming days doesn't look good....😞


Elton
Rovinj, Croatia


Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



8th August 2007

Hola!!
Hola amigo... Sounds like you are having a great time and you should stop because it's making me very jealous haha!! No really man, enjoy and see the most you can. Not a lot of people can say they've been all over the world. You are absolutely right, nobody can ever take this experience away from you!! I wish I had gone with you ;) But maby when you come to Panama we can do some traveling too... Keep the stories, pics and smiles coming, I'm looking forward to read what's next. Take care, un fuerte abrazo desde Haamstede haha ;)
9th August 2007

Hola Maudy, thanks for your comment. yes I'm having a good time for sure!!! Can't wait to go to Panama again, hope to make it for 2008. Maybe we can meet again when I'm back in Holland. Take care. un beso, Elton

Tot: 3.251s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0678s; 3; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb