A Little Bigger Than a Viking Long Ship


Advertisement
Europe
July 12th 2007
Published: July 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Oslo is the only point on this long journey that I have seen before, albeit briefly (one day) at the outset of winter more than ten years ago. Yet despite the long gap, as the MS Pearl of Scandinavia steamed up the fjord and into Oslo harbor, it felt something like a homecoming. I recognized the Bygdøy Peninsula, with its cluster of museums, slipping by on the right; I could see Akershus Slott (Castle) and the rather drab, but still imposing, Rådhus (City Hall) looming up along the harbor front. What was new was the massive development project near the ferry dock, including a space-age opera house to open later this year. I am looking forward to reacquainting myself with the city and to introducing it to Meghan, who arrives early this afternoon.

The journey from Copenhagen was quite lovely, even with the vaguely stormy, steel grey skies and light rain. I spent much of the time, both last evening and this morning, on the upper deck watching the scenery pass by: the flat, ordered green of Denmark; the dark sea; and then the rocky hills and pine forests of southern Norway (with many cottages nestled into the crags). Although a much gentler ride than if I had come by Viking long ship, I am glad I made the passage by water.

To maintain the sea-bound experience, we will be staying on a former car-ferry turned bed-and-breakfast, the MS Innvik. Right across from the new opera house.

More on Norway as Meghan and I get settled.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



12th July 2007

sounds great
Hey James great to meet you in Copenhagen, Karen and I wish you luck on your journey. Glad you made the boat ok, The skys in Norway will be something I remember, Dark blue velvet soft and steely.
12th July 2007

I was laughing
Really, I was laughing when I wrote that, Jimmi. Nothing to apologize for. It is almost an automatic reaction for me to make comments like that because I get so much grief from my friends from the coasts about growing up in Indiana.

Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0301s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb