Papà John Paul II


Advertisement
Vatican City's flag
Europe » Vatican City
January 28th 2006
Published: January 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

This morning, after a frightening nightmare (don't ask), I was awake in my bed at 5am. Why did I not just go back to sleep? I think it's because of the luring and attractive Rome outside my windows. Calling me to see her or else guilt would consume me if I did not take advantage of her and its "beauty".

There I was walking across the Tiber River towards the Vatican. I've read that you can go to Confession any time of the week/hour at the Vaticano. So hey, why not today? There were several "Confession booths" around on the side of the Church with numerous languages. I, of course, went to the English-speaking priest. He spoke Chinese, Italian, and English. What a combo! He (the priest) also gave me a picture of Pope Benedict and an 'Act of Contrition' card. Pretty awesome of a "souvenir" for confession, I think!

Also, I saw the tomb memoir of the recent Pope John Paul II. Wow, I didn't think I'd be as emotionally attached to seeing his tomb. But the moment I realized I was approaching his body, I began to tear up. It's so solemn and sublime that it seriously was breath-taking. One, of any denomination, would appreciate and respect such a great man. Bellisimo!

Anyways, afterwards I went to this over-priced cafe near Peter's square. I know I was asking for it by going to a very-tourist spot caffèteria, but hey, a 'hungry' girl hasta do what she has to do for herself... and that's eat! 😊 Headed home after lunch, went book-browsing and groccery-shopping. My roommate and I plan to go to a salon soon later, and I'd also be going to mass tonight since tomorrow is this arranged walk along the Ancient Walls of Rome tomorrow through AUR.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0437s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb