When in Rome......


Advertisement
Vatican City's flag
Europe » Vatican City
September 28th 2007
Published: September 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I love this hostel. Its so family oriented. The main room where we have breakfast is like a dining room in someone's home. We all gather here every morning and night and bond like we all know each other. Francesco and his family own the hostel and they are sooo super nice. They go grocery for us and we can use anything they buy. Endless yogurt, cereal, cookies, soda, gelato! etc.

After a fun breakfast, my attitude turned a little south. 😞 I checked my finances and realized that I had spent so much money in the span of like 16 days. How the heck did all that money fly by? I haven't bought anything. I'm backpacking, yo, no room for shopping. Its not really that kind of trip. I would love to buy stuff for my family, friends but I just can't. I do have a budget and I'm actually really close to it already. One and a half more weeks to go YIKES! But anyways, I decided to pinch some pennies this time around. Too much food, bar hopping and stuff in Spain I guess. The dollar is so weak to the Euro, I keep forgetting.

With that being said, I passed on the expensive Vatican tour that my friends were going on. I opposed to make my own tour. hee hee. After being a little depressed for the morning and freaking out on how I will get to my next destination, I calmed down and decided to start walking. Life's too short to mope around. I'm in ROME dammit...hee hee. I also took alot from my favorite shepard, Santiago. A lot of the messages in the book have to do with traveling and destiny and love and it made me feel at ease.

So here goes...my hostel is really close to the Vatican so I went into the piazza San Petro....breathtaking. Spirits lightened instantly. From there, I walked to the Castle of Saint Angelo. I noticed that wherever I turned there was something to take a picture of...around every corner. It's crazy. I observed the 3 bridges that are within view from the castle. Pont de Sant Angelo is the prettiest. Love the angels that line the bridge. Instant smiles. I crossed the bridge, past all the fake Prada purses and stuff, hahaha, and ended up on my way to Piazza Navona. The Italians and their Piazzas. This one had a huge obelisk. Did I mention there are so many obelisks in Italy. I LOVE THEM. I never knew I had a fetish for obelisks. Is that phallic? hahaha. This piazza is also where all the artists hang and you can actually watch them at work. A short walk from there and I was at the Pantheon. One of the most sustained parts of Ancient Rome. I sat inside for a while just staring at the hole in the top. I was on a roll....so much to see. Off to Trevi Fountain. Of course I stood backwards and flipped some coins in. One coin and it will guarantee your return to Rome, the second coin and your wish will come true. 😊 I posted up there for a bit and the sun came out. Up until know its been raining off and on, light rain, but nonetheless, wet. I ate some cold pizza and moved on. I walked up Via Del Corso which is where all the expensive Gucci, Versace, etc. shopping is. It's also right in the middle of Rome so its hard to miss. I passed the Montecitorio, which is basically like 3 huge museums. Next, on to the Spanish Steps! or the Piazza di Spagna. Very cool and the church on top is amazing. It was time for a read, so I found my step and dived into The Pilgrimage. Hours of people watching and reading, I was at ease again and went to see more. At the end of Via del Corso is the Piazza Del Popolo. HUGE! It was turning dusk so I was easily taken aback. I ended up sitting by another obelisk to read more. I looked at the map to how to get back and it was perfect, I would have to pass through the not-so-expensive shopping street, Via Cola di Rienzo. It was a great walk home.

WOW....crazy huh. There is no one behind me to use the computer so you can tell that I'm going to town on this entry.

Back at the hostel we are all just having a great time. We ended up watching Dancing with the Stars, the Italian version, and are so amused. Jazz club later tonight......



Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0454s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb