When in Rome


Advertisement
Vatican City's flag
Europe » Vatican City » Vatican City
May 24th 2012
Published: May 24th 2012
Edit Blog Post

These days are starting to all blur together. It was strange how dead the bar was last night but I guess the locals don't party too hard on a Wednesday.

I talked to mom yesterday for the first time in a while. Gave her a massive Internet hug. love ya mom.

I will never take for granted how there are no gypsys in Canada. Literally everywhere. All selling the same shit. Like, no I don't want your cheap ass Louis Vuitton purse and stop calling me playboy!

Remember I said I did laundry at 2 in the morning the other night? Well I had a bit of a scare. I didn't grab my clothes because this girl from our tour said she would hold onto them for me. Well it turns out she only had my whites. So for a full day I thought I had lost my color load.

My mindset was "umm wife beater Wednesday"?

A girl from the other tour actually tried to do her laundry in the morning and found my clothes in the dryer. She folded everything for me also. Bless her cute sexy ass.

I went for my first run of this trip. I felt I needed to do something healthy for myself. It was 28 out so jerseys off. I haven't sweated that much in a workout since me and dad had a big pump in Mexico. *internet high five*. I need to do more cardio. It actually made me think of the late night bike rides corb, foord, mc, fed and I would go on after a couple of pops. Haha I also remember me and Bowness biking to sanks house on bikes that were too small and had flat tires.

Our group had a traditional dinner that night at a Italian restaurant in Florence. Red wine, perino beer...

Lots of pasta and we even got some meatballs with chicken.

Im surprisingly gaining no weight. Steve is actually losing weight. He's going to have to buy a belt soon because his shorts that used to fit him are now barely hanging on.

Speaking of belts, we cannot gain back the skulling belt back.

We went to a space bar last night. It was cool looking but I mean can anything really compare to lotus?

The paying system was really strange. You were given a card at the door and to get your drinks the bartender would punch your card. (hole punch not manny pacquiou right hook punch)

Side note, I had to tell everyone here the story of me getting decked by manny pacquiou reincarnate in female form on whyte ave. I'm not sure what hurt more the next day between my jaw and pride.

Anyways, after you had your card hole punched 3 times, you would would have to go pay. Then receive a new card.

Bkslizz tried to crush a red bull can on his head. Barely made a dent. Darren has a pretty hilarious video of it. If you see it on YouTube it will probably be called "hurtin Albertan in flannel at a classy bar tries to drink redbull through osmosis and ends up learning physics"

Ok maybe that's too long of a title

Btw, kings!?!?!?

Both Dustin's on LA are playing amazing. I know foords already got his black Penner jersey ordered.

Im praying that there is wifi where we are for the finals. If not, I will have to head to a bar at 2 am

....

Went to the Vatican city today when we made it to Rome. Before we walked through we did a quick bus ride tour through Rome and it is amazing. Tomorrow we actually get a full day of touring but off first glimpse the architecture is outstanding. The coliseum is one of the wonders of the work and just by driving by, it is obvious to tell. We also drove past the monument that was built for the first king of Italy. It is also unbelievably massive. Just for reference, the horse that the king is on in the middle of the monument ( which only accounts for probably <5% of the entire area) is bigger than the bus we are touring on.

The Vatican city tour was quite boring to be honest. Although the paintings by Michelangelo inside of the sixteenth cathedral are very cool to see.

Your not suppose to take pictures inside but nick off our tour decided to stand in the middle of the cathedral and take a flash photo. The Swiss guards proceeded to yell at him (who dress like clowns btw). Nick is Australia's version of Pat Amell. No joke.

Saw a gypsy that looks like lady gaga. Makeup smeared everywhere with long hair on the sides and bangs of similar size on the front and back of her skull. I will have to show you a pic. She actually freaked me out. (dad, you wouldn't like this place).

Just completed my second workout of e tour today. Geordie brought us out to the gridiron and proceeded to kick me, Chris and Darren's ass.

Geordie runs iron mans and is a personal trainer in Australia.

I am so wiped.

At least we get wifi here in Rome.

I forgot to tell you guys that Steve was able to snag a sweet t shirt off the staff at the space club the other night. I'll let you hear from him how he got it.

I'll even add a pic of our crew for you guys

Advertisement



24th May 2012

Good to hear your not gaining weight
I'd hate to have to give you a lesson in running when your get back. Sounds like your having a great trip. I'm now a converted Kings Fan and have taped a Crown over the Maple leaf on my jersey.(Just so I can easily take it off next season) Good to hear most of your clothes didn't end up with your mastercard:) your mom is again working hard trying to help so make sure you bring her back something nice.Be Safe and Have fun. Dad

Tot: 0.259s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.048s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb