The day of the big move


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom
August 22nd 2016
Published: July 7th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Have you ever noticed how seeing a parent or loved one cry is like a yawn - catching?



It was around 8pm, we are stood in Heathrow and there I was watching my Mum cry and trying not to myself. Well let me tell you, it didn't work. So there we were Mum and I holding each other in tears with Dad stood to the side watching us. With my brother already in America for the last four months standing at airport security it hit my Mum that for the first time in twenty four years she was going to, in away, be childless.

How did my day end like this? Well....

The start wasn't much better, 9am and I'm lying on a table having my eyebrow hairs waxed, plucked basically ripped out of me! It'll be worth it, it always it.

Lunch time I'm sat at the breakfast room table eating a sandwich and writing a year's with of Birthday cards and this years Christmas cards.

Its only midday and I'm exhausted. Too many emotions have caused unneeded problems today - like the argument over adding another suitcase.

Exited, happy, nervous, exhausted, excited all these and more keep going through me all day.


Why you may ask?



Well today is the day. Today I make one of the biggest life changing decisions I've made so far (even though at the time I didn't know it). Today I fly to Hong Kong to start my year long teaching job in Shenzhen China.

Once the day had been gotten through and I was on the plane it really kicked in what I was about to do.

Excited - Yep

Happy - Yep

Exhausted - Yep

Nervous - Nope

I wanted this and I was going to get it!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0526s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb