Cambridge is cool


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom
August 26th 2012
Published: September 23rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

August 26 Sunday – Cambridge - The weather turned out to be very nice today. When I was at the bus station yesterday afternoon I noticed that the Citi 7 and 8 buses ran from the bus station to the city center. So rather than take the “just a 15 minute walk” to the city center I walked over to the Bus Stops by the train station and caught the Citi 7 bus. It took me to the drop off point on Emmanuel Street which is between the bus station and Sidney Street. If you walk over on Emmanuel street to Sidney street and take a right it will take you to the town square.

I walked over to the square and they were having a market there selling all kinds of stuff but I just walked by it and walked over to Kings Parade Street to check out the Kings College and Kings College Chapel. While I was looking around a guy came up and talked to me about taking a “punt” tour of Cambridge. I didn’t want to at first but he offered me a half price ticket of £10 so I thought it might be cool and signed up for the punt tour.

I was glad I did as it turned out to be fun.

After I finished my tour I went by the tourist office and made some enquiries about where they taught nursing in WW 2. I was told at the Old Addenbrooks Hospital which is now the Judges Institute. So I walked over to it and took some pictures.

The hospital is called Old Addenbrooks by the locals because there is a New Addenbrooks Hospital which has been built. During the war it was renamed First Eastern General Hospital which became the 20th General Hospital. My father was stationed at a nearby airbase before the invasion and they met in Cambridge.

He wanted to take walks and my mother told him she got enough walking at work.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0583s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb