Why I do travel?


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom
July 29th 2009
Published: July 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Me and scary parrotsMe and scary parrotsMe and scary parrots

In Tower of London, 1987.
And the answer is quite simply: Because I always wanted to. Well, not always, but ever since I was 10 and for the first time in my life saw backpackers in Piccadilly Circus in London, where my loving but unimaginative parents had taken me for a holiday (one could give them credit for choosing Armenia, Soviet Union to be the first foreing country I ever went to, but I think my mom is a commie, so no wonder.).

It was a group of two guys and a girl. I remember them having huge backpacks and looking stranted in the rain, peering into a book which I now assume, was a guide book but which at a time was in the process of getting wet. They looked like they were having so much fun! "Backpackers", my mom informed me. Later on, back home in Äetsä (population 5000) I read about InterRail in Teen Calendar, a must-have for every teenage girl in the extremely hip community of Äetsä, where all women worked at a zipper factory and all men at a chemical factory, which once exploded. I was infatuated and planned a rail route to Spain. Long term travel however requires dough so I had to set my self a plan:
1. Graduate from a great university with a diploma in billionairing.
2. Get a job in organized crime.
3. At 25, retire, and just travel.
The plan, like most plans I make, unfortunately backfired. I ended up being a philosophy student with a job in a tabloid paper, which people who don't know better might say, isn't too far from step 2, so congrats on that. In January 09 I then made a new plan: Rent out the flat, sell all my stuff, save as much money as I can and get moving in September 09.

Follow the preparation for the trip and the trip itself at


Advertisement



16th August 2009

getting started
The hardest part is deciding to go. After that, everything is easy.
17th August 2009

So true
It took me ten years to decide. But now it's all bliss.

Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 48; dbt: 0.057s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb