Trip 3: Great Britain


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom
June 4th 2007
Published: June 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

11/99

I had some extra money from all my pizza delivering and nothing to do in November of 99, so I decided to go to Great Britain for the first time for three weeks. I was able to explore some places in England, Wales, and Scotland. I based myself in London for most of the trip since there was so much action there. I made long day trips or overnight getaways from there to see other regions of the country.

England- London, Cambridge, Newcastle, Durham, Oxford, Bristol, Bath, Salisbury, Stonehenge, Dover, Canterbury, York, Leeds, Birmingham, Chester, Liverpool, Manchester. London appeared to be the center of the universe. I had never seen such a cosmopolitan city before. Newcastle stole the show however. I am an NUFC supporter and I'll never forget my first match at St. James' Park as I watched Alan Shearer score a goal. Durham, with its castle and glorious catherdral, was my favorite town. The place I disliked the most was York since I had high expectations. I found a town that disoriented me in its lack of homogenity. I liked Oxford more than Cambridge, but both are special places.

Scotland- Edinburgh and Glasgow. Edinburgh's hiking oppurtunities were what impressed me the most. The city itself is not to be overlooked as it is one of the finest in Britain and features a spectacular castle. Glasgow was a bit on the boring side.

Wales- Cardiff, Conwy, Caernarfon. I loved exploring Caernarfon castle because nothing is off limits. There are loads of towers and you can climb each one!



Advertisement



4th July 2007

Great
Hi Andy, You've certainly been to some interesting places. Looking forward to some more detailed blogs in the future! Happy travels, Ruth.

Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0398s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb