Ride Across Britain Day 3 A Third Over


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Wales
February 14th 2016
Published: February 14th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Day three started later as we decided not to leave until 7:30. I left with a group and we stayed together over the Severn Bridge into Wales and onto the first pit stop. This was a relatively flat leg, and on this leg I suffered the only mechanical fault on the entire trip. After the chain jumped off the chain ring I forced it back on using the front derailleur whilst I was still moving. Unfortunately this bent one of the links in the chain causing me to need a replacement at the first stop. After the first stop the terrain returned to the now familiar steep ascents and I became separated from the group and was back to solo riding. It was on this leg that we experienced the first of what I always thought of as the Forest Gump moments; the bit where he describes some of the wonderful sights he has seen.

Well halfway through the middle leg of suffering we came upon the Tay valley, just a short section where the road runs alongside the river but it lifted the spirits and delighted the soul. After the second stop of the day there was a relatively flat run in to the end where I got together with Simon and Dave and we took turns on the front and motored along to the end.

Now Dave is a bit of a RAB legend: this year was his fifth RAB in a row, in fact he was one of two riders that had done four and was riding for free. At the end of the day I felt a lot better about the event: a third was over, I had spent the majority the day riding with other people and the scenery was fantastic.

Total mileage 100 miles, 6,624 feet of climbing, 7:33:09 riding time.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 17; qc: 72; dbt: 0.0908s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb