Llandudno and Conwy


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Wales
May 18th 2005
Published: May 23rd 2005
Edit Blog Post

The Welsh seaside resort of LlandudnoThe Welsh seaside resort of LlandudnoThe Welsh seaside resort of Llandudno

View from the top of the Great Orm
From Chester it is easy and cheap to access northern Wales and Snowdonia. I went on a day trip to Llandudno which is a seaside resort that, although it is packed in the summertime, was practically deserted when I was there. It was also a cold, rainy day which may have contributed to it. The north Welsh Coast is very scenic, and I spent an enjoyable few hours climbing up the Great Orm (a hill by the sea) and mingling with the goats and sheep. But while I was at the top it poured down, and I spent a very wet 45 minutes slip-sliding my way back into town. After warming up and having lunch in a cafe I had a little wander around the town and soon learned that besides hiking the Great Orm, there isn't much to do in Llandudno on a cold winter's day.

So in the early afternoon I hopped on the train with the intention of just going back home to Chester and taking a warm bath. After all, I was covered in mud and sheep poo. But from the train I spotted a beautiful castle and so hopped off at the next stop to
Conwy CastleConwy CastleConwy Castle

View from across the river Conwy
go see it. I ended up discovering the tiny town of Conwy, which I had never heard of before. It was a gorgeous walled town dominated by the massive castle built by Edward I as part of his effort to control Wales. I wished that I had more time to explore it but unfortunately it was getting dark and I had to catch my train back. But I did enjoy the castle which was incredible. I will have to go back someday...

I wish I remembered more about the castle. If I find the leaflets from it I will add more info. I can say it was like something out of a fairy tale! And when it was originally built it would have been rendered (smoothed over) and painted white. A big white castle! All you need then is a knight in shining armor on a white steed and you really are a princess! Here are the pictures.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Inside the CastleInside the Castle
Inside the Castle

View of the courtyard from one of the towers.
Conwy HarborConwy Harbor
Conwy Harbor

View of the harbor from the castle
The Great HallThe Great Hall
The Great Hall

Notice the massive stone fireplace on the right! There obviously would have been a wooden floor. An impressive structure even in ruins...
Tower and TownTower and Town
Tower and Town

The view over the town from one of the 4 tall towers of the castle. I climbed all 4 for 4 spectacular views!


17th November 2005

was there
and brought home pictures very similar to yours...my llandudno day in addition to poring rain boasted severe hail. I loved it.

Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 73; dbt: 0.0549s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb