Wrexham County Borough 15 - Bangor on Dee / The Biblical Plague continues - will it be locusts next ?


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Wales » Wrexham
January 24th 2021
Published: January 24th 2021
Edit Blog Post

As I scrunched my way to the Bridge to survey the height of the river I met an elderly couple . "It's slippery underfoot on the bridge " Indeed it was . The cobblestones took on a shiny appearance underneath the covering of snow . Snow which had been falling steadily for the last hour or so. The sky was white. It looked full of the snow . It was going to fall throughout the day . Sometimes heavy . Othertimes a light scattering . It all looked very pretty. The river was benign. A complete change from a few days ago. The High Street no longer flooded . "It's Biblical isn't it ?" - "Yes" I replied. " it is ".. " She smiled locusts next and walked away. Yes we had seen floods , we now had snow - what else could our Winter weather throw at us ?

Another man and woman stood talking ."It must be bad over at Bwlchgwyn " I heard him say . He announced to his audience that Bangor never got snow. Well normally it was usually clear down here at the river level . However today, Sunday morning it was snowing heavily with no respite in sight . I thought plumber . He is due tomorrow . We had texted him last night asking for an update . Nothing,. No reply . Was he going to let us down ? With this snow it would be easy for him to find an excuse not to come .

There were signs as I walked of the devastation Bangor had seen. The green boxes full of the fibre optics for the telephone and broadband were all shrink wrapped and surrounded by sandbags. Where the water had not drained there were still puddles . The Middle Shop flooded on Thursday had now dried out but showed sign of water damage . Oddly everyone smiled as if this were normal. "We cleaned up " "We mopped the water out " This was all done with smiles all round . Life went on in Bangor whatever the river and the weather threw at it . I picked my milk up and went to see where the Whitchurch Road had been covered with flood water . It was hard to see anything amiss today. Snow makes everything look pristine . The leaves on the shrubs were all covered with a coating . The church looked stunning . Its roof white over . Snow settled on the porch. All the gravestones topped with a layer of the white stuff . There were no kids out playing in the snow . Normally l would expect sledging , snowballing and the making of the snow man . Today the village was eerily quiet . Covid perhaps? The floods ? Maybe. The bells rang and shook me out of my thoughts . They rang 10 times - I looked at my watch . 10.00 and all was well . Well sort of , in a funny sort of way.

I wondered how Ziggy would fare . She was covered white by the time I walked home . It had only been a short walk but the air felt fresh and clean. If we had finished the house I could enjoy it . As it was there was so much mess to go home to and little sign of anything happening . What about Gabby? So many things not quite going according to plan . January is a funny old month . It is a month when we can expect cold and miserable weather . The expectation of snow is higher in January than it is before Christmas . I kept thinking I didn't want snow . It would mean the roads blocked . It would herald a period of excuses from workmen .

Yesterday I almost got to Worthenbury. I could see the village just in the distance ., I turned around and returned home before I go there . The rain was threatening again and started to fall as sleet on my way home . I could see snow on the hills . Last night was cold . Cold enough for snow . And that is what we woke up to. A white wonderland . A carpet of white on the road . I could see signs of early morning walkers who had been out before me. Their footprints were steadily disappearing as the snow flakes filled them in. The gritter must have been out last night . The roads were clear to the local school . A school shut due to Covid and with little sign of reopening . They never bothered with us . I thought that had we stayed in Wingerworth this amount of snow would have warranted a few of us going out with our snow shovels to clear the road .

I never liked snow . I certainly don't relish it now . It looks pretty but it is not what we want . It will probably even hold up the Covid vaccination programme. Life goes on but what will it throw up next ?

Advertisement



25th January 2021

We love an occasional snowfall...
warming next to a fire and sipping hot chocolate.
25th January 2021

warming fires
That sounds lovely Bob , our heating packed up last night . The plumber turned up today to fit the new one . Oh to sit in front of a warming fire

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 15; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0553s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb