perpetual darkness


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Wales » Powys » Welshpool
October 5th 2013
Published: October 5th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I feel as if I have been put through my paces today - to the underworld and back. We met up with 50 or so other geocachers and were guided to a drainpipe which was the entrance to the "underworld". Once inside, where you could stand up at least, we explored lots of tunnels and underground lakes, in one of which was lurking a newly hidden cache. Someone had to wade into the chilly water to retrieve it - not me! I certainly wouldn't have gone looking for it by myself, but can now add it to my list of "found caches." We were glad that we'd borrowed some hard hats, or we'd have very sore heads tonight, and grateful for the terrestrial bars (Mars) that the organiser had brought along. It was a great day, if a bit scary.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

looking braverlooking braver
looking braver

than I felt
the entrancethe entrance
the entrance

I'll never make a potholer
ghostly handghostly hand
ghostly hand

trying to claw through the mine floor
we came out we came out
we came out

into a quarry they called Jurassic park, because of all the ferns.
in the villagein the village
in the village

we spotted this little mine slate cart
some caching in the sunshinesome caching in the sunshine
some caching in the sunshine

to end the day - she dropped it over the wall!
We got a takeaway curryWe got a takeaway curry
We got a takeaway curry

and invited Dad for tea. Perfect end to the day.


7th October 2013

Darkness
You're braver than me Carrie, I don't know that I would have ventured down there. Love to all.
28th December 2013

You are a much braver woman than I! I don't see myself going into a place like that...maybe in my 20s when i was more fearless! Congrats on even more caches!

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0557s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb