D31: Heading west to Fishguard


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Wales » Pembrokeshire
July 19th 2014
Published: July 19th 2014
Edit Blog Post

The train gods really hate me on this trip haha. Well, debatable I suppose… although my trains keep running super late (or not at all) I usually get a good story or experience out of it… so… again, debatable.

Today I was taking the train up to Haverfordwest to connect thru to Fishguard which is my final real stop in my journey. I’m excited because it’s still Pembrokeshire (which I love) and I haven’t been before. Fingers crossed the weather is decent.

Let me tell you - last night it was not decent. For the first time in my many visits I heard thunder in the UK. And I didn’t just hear it - it was so loud and booming I almost fell off my bunk bed from jolting straight up and awake. It was seriously loud. The rain was soothing at least and I fell back asleep not long after.

I had to take a commuter train one stop over to Cardiff Central which is no biggie, but then I got to Central Station and saw the delays. Oh the delays… which were “due to lightning strikes”. Beautiful. I left 25 min late which isn’t that horrible. I only grumble because I had my backpack of bricks with me - had I just been visiting something for a day trip I would have been more than happy for the extra time to people watch.

Train ride was nice - a good chunk of it is on the main rail west that I keep taking - I’m getting to know it well. Because I had originally rushed in the morning (not knowing about delays) my lunch consisted of a pack of four chocolate coffee muffins and my new fav M&S drink: Vanilla Bean and Maple Syrup Smoothie, sweetened with Canadian maple syrup. It’s just calling my name. Needless to say I look forward to arriving in Haverfordwest/Fishguard and having proper food.

Back to the train for a second though - I love how you can just shut off. I usually have music on, just because, but I don’t even end up listening to it… the brain just floats from abstract random thought to thought and it’s lovely to not have to be concerned or thinking about anything in particular.

Anyway, because my train was so late coming in, I just missed the bus from Haverfordwest to Fishguard (literally arrived in time to watch it leave) and it only comes every 60-75 min… so that was unfortunate. I pulled out my book and read a chapter when the next bus pulled up - he was ending his route but was nice enough to let me sit on the bus and wait rather than leaning on one of the fake-benches in the bus stop. I pretended to continue reading but I was listening to the music/videos he was playing on his phone instead haha. My favourite was a Welsh cover of Call me Maybe… brilliant.

Fishguard is a cute little town… it’s like one street big and everyone seems to know each other which is always sweet. I’m staying in a small hostel (only three rooms) which is nice because it feels like a home rather than a hostel. Well, all things considered I guess it pretty much is a house that welcomes a few travellers a night - the guy who owns the place is very chill and is they type that just likes to chat the day away, in a good way. When I was eating supper later on he joined me in the kitchen and we just chatted about the area, what it’s like meeting so many travellers etc. He made an interesting point about how a lot of backpackers are well educated folk, tend to be of the same cloth/attitude, are very often in social fields of work and that it’s pretty difficult to be racist and close-minded when you travel the world. It was an interesting talk.

He was funny when he brought me up to my room when I first arrived - before we entered he announced my arrival: “ladies I brought you a friend!” My roomies are two retired teachers from Washington state and are total hippies. They are the cutest thing ever haha. I sat down on the ground between their beds and we talked for the next four hours, no exaggeration. The bulk of our talk revolved around two things - teaching and travelling… and yet somehow the subjects very much overlapped.

We spent a good chunk of time comparing the US/Canadian/UK education systems. They’re both elementary teachers, but it still boils down to the same issues. I told them about my experience in Luton (ha) and we talked about the dangers of teaching to the test and bureaucracy and all that crap we deal with as educators.

As for the travel, they’ve both been all around the world - one just for pleasure, one thru teaching positions and conferences and such. We talked about New Zealand’s beauty and their education system, we talked about how I’m pondering doing my Masters in Finland and how their education system is the envy of many countries, we talked international schools and the like. They both urged me to really look into the Finland option… we’ll see. Honestly by the time I can afford it I should be working consistently, so, I don’t know. One never knows.

Of course we talked about our current travels too - they’re in Wales for two weeks, but staying in the north-west corner. It was great to hear about some of the small villages - I’ve added to my list of places to see ‘next time’. There will always be a ‘next time’ in my travel mind.

So, that was my day. The teachers invited me along to join them tomorrow, but they’re heading out at 7am… ha. Anyway, I’m happy to chat but I do like doing my own thing while I meander around the world. I’m sure we’ll have another great chat tomorrow night.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0558s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb