Wales by foot, hoof and tyre ...


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Wales » Pembrokeshire » Pembroke
August 31st 2009
Published: September 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I confess ... by the third weekend in a row going out and doing stuff, you're excited, but perhaps that excitement is slightly tempered by how damn tired you are! Come Friday of the long weekend I wasn't as buzzed as I'd been the previous 2 weekends as all I wanted to do was sleep the entire weekend away, but instead I was jumping in a mini-bus for a trip to Pembroke in Wales for a weekend of walking, horseriding and quadbiking. Wouldn't have not gone for the world, but 2 weeks down the track ... I'm still tired.

Long weekend Friday, expecting chaos on the roads and a nice slow trip, but didn't expect minimal traffic (we left more than an hour late) or the slowness of the trip to be down to the driver of the other mini van who was lacking a little confidence in the driving department (mind blowingly slow). Arrived at Stackpole Centre, a National Trust accommodation property at about 1am, had napped a little, but by the time you wind down there is no sleeping until about 2am. Good start to an activity weekend, when you are still tired from the weekend before.

Well the weekend was fab. Saturday was all about the hiking and a leisurely 6.5 mile hike along the headlands and lovely beaches of Pembrokeshire. The coastline is so dramatic (we all know I love dramatic!) with little beaches squeezed in between sheer cliffs and the walk had the added benefit of Welsh ponies running around and the joys of blackberry season providing a touch of fruity goodness as we went along. We even got back to the Centre in enough time for a well little nap before enjoying a nice BBQ dinner under the stars.

Sunday was an early start to head off to go horse riding down to and along the beach - I've never done the whole beach riding thing so it was a new experience, but I confess I expected a little bigger beach and a slightly more romantic (unrealistic) vision of me riding down in a white gown, sun glistening ... what I had was waterproofs as it was raining (yeah for new gortex!) and a rather large group of riders going around in circles and up and down. The cantering was fun, but the most excitement would have to be when my horse shied due to a rock fall - very proud to have stayed on although it did increase my heartbeat a tad.

I had lovely plans for another afternoon nap before Quad Biking on Monday morning, but it wasn't to be as I somehow ended up doing it Sunday afternoon. I was a little weary, but that didn't last too long once we were kitted up and out in, yep, more rain and mud hooning around the quad biking track. I admit to being alternately terrified and exhilarated biking around a very, very muddy / slippery track. I soon discovered the easiest way - just go for it. By the end of an hour I was covered in mud, with some lovely little mud freckles and had a huge grin plastered on my face!

Monday I helped clear up and did nothing before the trek in the afternoon back to London and a more sedate life!


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

view from the sandview from the sand
view from the sand

REAL Sand ... amazing


Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0391s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb