Back in Blighty


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Wales » Ceredigion » Aberystwyth
September 3rd 2007
Published: September 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hi Guys,

Having managed to avoid being run over by the enormous number of Tipper Trucks in Ireland I'm now safely back in Blighty travelling along the beautiful coast of Wales. Although the scenery is stunning one is instantly refamaliarised with the undulating hills which can be taxing at times.

The bike ride is also taking its toll on the bike. North of Aberystwyth, I suddenly noticed that my back wheel was heavily buckled and checking the spokes it turns out that 5 of them had snapped. Anyway, I ended up staying in Borth (8 miles north)of Aberystwyth for an extra day to get a new wheel. Not the most exciting of places and dreadful weather. The only thing to do was watch Chelsea get stuffed by Aston Villa in the local boozer.

Further on up the coast I called in on Jan and Pete Ashley in Dollegau whom I had never met before. I was introducd to them via a friend (Sara Collen) and my God did they look after me. Having recently moved to Dollegau, they intend to set up a Bed and Breakfast in the near future. They have a beautiful house with stunning views
Jan and Pete AshleyJan and Pete AshleyJan and Pete Ashley

Experts at hospitality. Setting up a Bed and Breakfast will be a piece of cake for you both.
and a most fantastic garden ideal for drinking beer on a sunny day. Anyway it was a sunny day and we drank loads of beer. In addition Jan cooked me a most fantastic Lasagne and having been looked after most marvellously all evening I have to admit that I was rather de-hydrated as I set off on my bike ride the follwing day. A big thank you to both again and good luck with the Bed and Breakfast. You certainly get my vote.

Travelling along the north coast of Wales I was quite amazed by the number of stunning sandy and beautiful beaches. They are certainly a well kept secret as they were virtually empty. Intending to head up the Wirral and across to Liverpool my gear cable snapped and whence I was forced to take a ride into Chester which in hindsight was a good idea as it is absolutely beautiful.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



18th September 2007

Meet the Ashleys
Glad that you enjoyed helping Pete and Jan to practise their b+B techniques. They have chosen the most fantastic spot and their hospitality is second to none!

Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 14; qc: 20; dbt: 0.0292s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb