Design Strategy... of my FUTURE?


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland
January 30th 2012
Published: January 30th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Future Strategy Map...Future Strategy Map...Future Strategy Map...

...or 5th grade science fair project??
My future has now been planned and marked out clearly. All thanks to my design strategy project where we were asked to make a 'map' and 'compass' to help plan out our lives until year 2020. It was quite a deep project, but nonetheless, it is finally overwith. We were also instructed to write a narrative about ourselves from the future to help everyone visualize where we wanted to be in 8 years. So, attached you can find the TIME magazine article from year 2020 that I threw together.

Anyway, this morning was a tiny bit hectic. As you readers may know, it takes me a solid 30-35 minutes to walk to my studio each morning. Today, for presentations, we had to be there by 10am. Naturally, I was perfectly on time (by Amanda standards.) and walked out of my flat at 9:25...not too shabby. Unfortunately for me, at about the "5-minutes-to-go-mark" I realised something very serious...I had walked the entire way and had forgotten my 'map' model behind. I did a double take, asking myself if it was worth it to go all the way back and just be late. I decided against it and continued on my journey. Arriving at the studio, I was scrambling for an answer. Finally, I just brought it up to my tutor and he said is was fine as long as I had pictures...which I did! So, in came a deep breath and out a very long sigh of relief!!! The presentations began and I was one of the few who actually atempted something 3D so it made me feel even better.

Anyway, we didn't finish until 5PM! It was quite a long and dull day, but since Kaitlyn (the other American) and I don't have mid-year reviews to worry about, we decided to explore the West End of Glasgow. I have been told its a nice area, but I certainly was not expecting this. We arrived at a picturesque place called Ashton Lane. SO CUTE. Its a small cobble stone alley with a hand full of Pubs and Restaurants. Now, who passes a nice looking bar and has just had a SUPER long day at work and doesn't think of going in...well certainly not us! Especially since is was freezing outside. Kaitlyn and I had some hot Cider (delicious!) and then continued on to "The Wee Curry Shop" which we had been recommended to. And yes, it was amazing!

Oh, and to start our adventures for the next 2 weeks, Kaitlyn and I booked a flight from London to Eindhoven for 8.99! Seriously though, Kaitlyn's Dad thought she was insane for spending nearly a grand on a 1hour 20minute trip...clearly he has never heard of Ryan Air...what a big silly =P

Well I'm just off to search of cool things to do in Amsterdam and Prague. Any Ideas?

a.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.255s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 7; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0469s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb