SCOTLAND


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland
August 11th 2010
Published: August 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

SCOTLANDSCOTLANDSCOTLAND

St Andrews...
Location: Aberdeen, Balloch - Loch Lomond, Crianlarich, Cupar, Dundee, Edinburgh, Glasgow, Inverness, Newton Stewart, Pitlochry, St Andrews, Stirling
Length of Stay: 16 Days
Cost per Day: $89

Something went terribly wrong in Ireland, so I apologise but there wont be any blog/photos on this country...
The moment I arrived, I desperately wanted to leave... no particular reason... I didnt have any unpleasant experiences... it was more just a feeling that completely overwhelmed me and didnt go away...
I persisted for 3 days but since I was becoming more and more miserable, I made the decision to leave... there was no point in spending my time and money in a location I didnt feel comfortable in...
Very curious experience... really dont know what that was all about...
Do you think its possible that I had a past life in Ireland and perhaps it didnt go so well... or maybe I just picked up on the internal conflict still ongoing in this country...
Whatever the reason, I was happy to leave and felt much better the minute I set foot on Scottish soil...
I will try it again in the future...

Scotland of course is a wee little place...
Countryside is
SCOTLANDSCOTLANDSCOTLAND

visiting St Andrew Golf Course was probably the highlight of Scotland for me... and I dont even play golf...
gorgeous, little towns and villages are nice...
the cities however didnt really do it for me... If you can imagine what a rough, hard working industrial working town in the 80's might have looked like, then thats how all the Scottish cities came across to me now in 2010...
All a bit grungy, grey and rough... the streets are filled with oodles of tattoos, missing teeth and everyone looks like they're ready for a fight... yep the girls too... such a shame...
I would have no problem walking around the streets of Bangkok, Kuala Lumpur or Phnom Penh @ night... but the streets of Glasgow...no way...

I did however have an opportunity to catch up with an old school friend, so was worth coming here just for that...

I unfortunately dont have a great deal of photos on Scotland for you...
I struggled to find things that were different from Wales and England and also of course, photos dont always turn out so well when the light is poor... those rays of sunshine were few and far between...

Time to finally leave the UK now... I have completely turned my plans upside down and twisted them all around, so what I was going to do is now not happening... so again I apologise... as the promised London blog wont be forthcoming...
I have instead decided to go look at a few more Eastern European countries before leaving this region altogether...
France, Spain & Portugal... well... I will save them for another trip...

Trust all is well with everyone... Nic x






Additional photos below
Photos: 48, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

SCOTLANDSCOTLAND
SCOTLAND

of course... one wouldnt expect anything less... I wonder what the annual membership fees are...
SCOTLANDSCOTLAND
SCOTLAND

obviously a Tiger Woods fan...
SCOTLANDSCOTLAND
SCOTLAND

loads and loads of Golf shops in St Andrews...


11th August 2010

I've been there!!!
It was an absolute pleasure welcoming and spending time with you in our little/wee country Nic......"Haste ye back!"....xxx
12th July 2012

Scots
Scotland is quite different to Wales (I've lived in both), but you've got to hit the West coast of Scotland and the islands to get the really amazing scenery and white sand beaches. The East coast isn't very spectacular. :) I'm suprised you didn't hit the midges - you've never had wanted to return!

Tot: 0.315s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 62; dbt: 0.1162s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb