Edinburgh


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland
October 20th 2022
Published: October 20th 2022
Edit Blog Post

My how time flies ! It is hard to believe my time here is ending . Edinburgh has been most welcoming and I have enjoyed my time here . I arrived and found my hotel early enough to get a 24 hour hop on hop off ticket . I chose one that had a live commentator and am glad I did ...They can answer questions between the comments and I appreciated that. I did the once around , 75 minutes . It is a fascinating city built in many layers up the hills toward the Castle . Riding the bus the bridges over lower streets were pretty impressive. Walking is not difficult but not flat .Pretty easy slopes . On the second round I got off and walked the Royal Mile exploring the many closes and a few of the stores . Not sure why but I have little interest in shopping . Part of it I'm sure is the expense. I find all things expensive here . Our doĺlar doesn t seem to have the clout of the US dollar .right now. . I have not found any woolens worth the price they are asking . Granted , I own more scarves and shawls than you can shake as stick at . I also prefer silk and Down for warmth not wools . SO I have not been shopping .

I tried to go to the Palace of Holyrood but it was closed for the day . It would have a been interesting .

The Queen was much loved here and there are still little memorials set up to honour her . I did a tour of St Giles the Royal Kirk. It is fascinating. Parts are a 1000 years old and although it has gone through many restorations , refurbishments and renovations it wears its years well . The windows range from the earliest days to the present . The most recent , 1990s I think , is to honour Robbie Burns . I didn't like it much . The Thistle Chapel was added in 1909 . It is here the monarch will meet with the 16 Knights of the Thistle .

The next day I spent mainly at the Dublin Castle . WOW ! The royal residence was established here in the 1100s . It really is a town built on top of a mountain and protected by additional walls . The Scottish Crown Jewels are kept here and the state room is still used occasionally . Mary Queen of Scots gave birth to her son James here . An amazing place . .

It is also FREEZING COLD. The dampness and the wind are crazy . I am so glad I have my long silk underwear and my down jacket which I wear under my rain jacket.

Given the age of the new city i was curious about how those who lived in the Georgian era . Not surprisingly there is a museum for that . A Georgian House , 3 stories plus a basement , completely furnished with a guide offering stories and explanations in EACH room . I now have an understanding of life in those times .

Today has been very rainy and I have taken it indoors .I was able to take a city bus from the hotel to the Scotish National Gallery . Lovely art from all parts of the world . I also spent a bit of time window shopping on Prince street. Nothing caught my eye crying take me to home .

And now to pack for tomorrow's flight and return to Dublin .

Hope all is well . Keep in touch .

Advertisement



20th October 2022

Whew.. what a tour!
Hi Pam, You have really seen a great deal … just reading the itineraries made me tired. Must be a great experience though… have enjoyed following it with you.
21st October 2022

time to start thinking about home
I'm sure it is all very interesting and equaly sure that the best best part of all travel is the last leg home. So happy for you and the expierences involved. see you soon. roger
21st October 2022

I've so enjoyed your posts, Pam. Traveling again at last. It sounds you've had a huge trunk full of sensory and other experiences to carry home with you and keep you warm this winter. Perhaps you should keep your eyes peeled for a small perfect egg shaped rock to pop into your pocket for a souvenir given shopping has not provided you with a Gaelic/Celtic item to carry home. Not much time left I guess, only hours. Hope your trip home is smooth. Wish I could drop by to see post cards or just have a gab.
28th October 2022

Nice trip
Like to read your journey so much, as if I was walking on the road you were walking on, seeing the stuff you are seeing. Made me feel I have been there too, but at the mean time, made me have the desire to go there myself. Hope you had a nice trip home!

Tot: 0.453s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1181s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb