Heading to New Heights in the Highlands


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » The Highlands
November 24th 2016
Published: November 24th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Day 1 - Getting back in touch with nature




September 7th 2016
Finding myself with some spare annual leave and a strong sense of wanderlust, I grabbed the opportunity of taking a break from the office for a few days, in pursuit of the Scottish highlands. With the summer temperatures cooling off, and many muddy camping experiences haunting my past, I organised my walking holiday around the rural holiday lodges situated in Scotland’s remote countryside.



With an ambitious itinerary involving hikes to the highest points of the Outer Hebrides, I began my island hopping tour by taking the ferry transfer from Ullapool to the town of Stornoway. With rumours circulating on board about sights of whales, dolphins and puffins, the 2 and a half hour journey to the Isle of Lewis flew by, and it was soon time to cross the Isle of Lewis to the unspoilt island of Great Bernera. Warming up for my week in the wilderness, I explored the area on an 11km hike, and finally arrived at the remote wilderness lodge - where a hot bath and large glass of red were more than appreciated.



Day 2 - My first experience with black pudding (and four of the Hebridean summits)




September 8th 2016
After enjoying several glasses of wine the night before, a cooked breakfast and a day of fresh air was exactly what I needed. Determined to embrace as many Scottish traditions as possible, I savoured a large helping of tattie scones and black pudding. This delicacy may often be considered a controversial choice and, when you consider the ingredients, it’s not hard to see why. With pigs’ blood, fat and oats making up most of the recipe, I was quick to wash it down with a strong cup of coffee - but in hindsight, I’ll admit that this Scottish speciality was surprisingly tasty.



With a picnic lunch, raincoat and of course a slab of Romney’s Kendal Mint cake (a staple for any Northerner) packed into my rucksack, I headed out for the hills on a dramatic 15km ridge walk. Pausing to take in the spectacular views from the summit of Muladal, I felt a distinct sense of peace and tranquility on this unspoilt peak. Well aware of a looming cloud, I chose to avoid the 1km detour to the summit of Ulabhal, and instead traversed the rocky terrain on the ridge of Ulabhal, Oireabhal and Cleiseabhal.



Day 3 - Feeling on top of the world, at the highest point on Lewis



September 9th 2016
Whether it was due to a fantastic night's sleep or the sound of rare birds that stirred me, I woke up early, ready to face my third day in the highlands. Determined to make the 5 hour ascent of Mealaisbhal by lunch, I optimistically set out for the rocky shoulder of Mula Mac Sgiathain just after sunrise at 7am.



Unable to resist my mid-morning snack, I found a comfortable looking spot on the rocky slopes and settled down to enjoy the captivating countryside. Tucking into my trail mix, it wasn’t long before I was attracting visitors in the form of Hebridean sheep. While most of my new friends were of the two-horned breed, my particular favourite was the playful four-horned sheep attempting to take a bite of my lunch. Eventually managing to leave this friendly flock behind, I continued on the 11.5km hike in search of the breathtaking views that span the entirety of the island.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0484s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb