I'm Only a Bus Driver Going to Uig


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » The Highlands
October 8th 2017
Published: October 9th 2017
Edit Blog Post





October 8, Sunday .... Must add the cross of St. Andrew because I am in Scotland and all the signs are in Scottish and English...that takes a bit of getting used to...the Scottish is on top not like in Ontario where the French is below .. then again in Quebec it is also reversed...thank all thoughts of repratism.

"The village of Uig is located on Skye's stunning Trotternish peninsular. We are in a beautiful protected bay.

We have good restaurants, a lively bar, hotels, bed and breakfast accommodation, a campsite, shops, a petrol station, a pottery, brewery, bike hire, boat trips, ferry service to the Western Isles and a local and mainland bus service.

Uig hosts lots of wildlife including buzzards, herons, oyster catchers and a resident sea otter and seal in varied habitats that include mature woodland, open moors and coasts.”from

"Uig is served by the A87 road from Portree and Kyle of Lochalsh to the south and the A855 road which runs northwards around the end of the Trotternish peninsula before also turning south to Portree. As of August, 2006, Uig is accessible via intercity buses on Skye, and Scottish Citylink buses, which travel as far south as Fort William and Glasgow.

From its sheltered port, Caledonian MacBrayne ferries run to Tarbert on Harris and Lochmaddy on North Uist providing links with the Outer Hebrides. Uig Tower is a prominent local landmark associated with the Highland Clearances."from internet. I was on a Citylink bus and was thankful that the driver stopped when I shouted, "That's it".



Of the thirteen B&B on the map I seem to have chosen the one furthest away from the Pier. By the look of it a vehicle would serve one well in all cases. They all look like they are scattered among the hills and fields....nice if your on a driving holiday!



What made me choose this B&B??? Dearg Mullach ..the white house with a red roof.

It lies on the side of the road 2miles from Uig. Maybe it is the closest to the pier. Maybe it was the cheapest. I have no idea how I landed here. There is only one room...nice and clean but the breakfast jams and jellies are on a table in the foyer in front of the laundry room door.he Citylink bus i asked the driver if he knew this
Thru the WindowThru the WindowThru the Window

The hills are a rust colour... so appropriate for Autumn
street. "NO."

Later I asked if he had seen the name of the B&B on the road. "I'm only a bus driver."



When we were within 20 min of reaching Uig I put down my knitting and started to watch the road signs. I spotted the sign Bearg Mullach. "That's It." Tänksbetogot the driver stopped. I jumped out into wet grass. I walked back 500yards ...however far trhat is... but off the road the house lay back 200 yards.The son answered the door in shorts with hairy legs showing above constricting socks.

The room looks good in its grey and white decor. Milk and orange juice in the little bar fridge. All manner of deadly cereals on counter with bowl plate and cutlery. HAve already burnt my hand on the kettle. It won't stop heating and the handle is too hot to hold once the water boils. Unplugged that in a hurry... drinking alll the cold milk with instant coffee in it.

All I had to eat was one of my favourite square buns and brie cheese. Also a lovely box of Nives shortbread. Boughjt the box because it has a perfect picture of
Lake on the LeftLake on the LeftLake on the Left

Even sitting in the front seat it was hard to get shots of the left side of the bus.... and the bus was going fast even on these shoulderless narrow roads.
the Viaduct onn it. The shortbreads are excellent...better than Walker's if I am any judge of shortbread....to bad i cannot keep one to bring back. I bought the box at the Fort William newspaper stand in the train station. If you go that way buy some ....delicioso.

And that was my dinner. The B&B guy did give me a packet of Maryland cookies...looks like chocolate chips...think I'd rather drink all the milk.

Seriously thought of going to bed without a shower...for a nannosecond....will just take another one in the morning...am afraid I will sweat ...sheets and pillows plus the grey towels looks like total polyester! One towel so old the writing has worn of the descriptive tag! OK... looked closely...read the faint print...100% cotton...my foot...the whole toel feels slippery.

And now the tv is gone! OMG....they want 9.99 pounds to watch Doctor Strange on line... ok back to german schlock movies.

October 9 Thanksgiving in Canada. No turkey talk here only scads of cards, gifts, decorations and food for Christmas. All the pubs have reminder signs that its important to book for your Christmas Party NOW.

Instant Nescafe in cold milk and two more shortbread
Rusty MountainRusty MountainRusty Mountain

...seems the same rusty moss covers all the hills ...smal and tall... not at all like the Laurentians ... although when asked I was told all this rust is green in summer.
cookies are breakfast.

TV still on the fritz...cannot disturb hairy-legs because he told me is out late at night. What does he do... a band....cleaning the pub...security guard...???

OH ...spoke too soon... was going to write it is not raining...but it is ....20 min. ago the sun was in the skly...its still in the sky but obscured by a heavy rain cloud. Hopefully these clouds will remain in the singular.



All done and its only 10.00 ...plenty of time to read a maggazine... upgrade my ferry crossing accomodations from Lerwick to Aberdeen... ignore my unfed stomach... and contemplate a Harris Tweed ...scarf...nothing bigger!


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

White and Black Curve Signs White and Black Curve Signs
White and Black Curve Signs

No morer black and white cows just rust coloured ones...the cows do not change to green in summer.
Rolling LandscapeRolling Landscape
Rolling Landscape

The flat English fields have been left behind. Arduous undulating landscape makes for tough working conditions.
Rest StopRest Stop
Rest Stop

...five minutes to find the toilet up the stairs and wouldn't you know it is was a pay tpoilet... quick 20 pence..tanksbetogot.. and swiftly back to the bus. the driver still not prepared to use one of his two fones to find the B&B...I'm only a bus driver... nt too swift a one thats for sure....nor overly helpful...now that that is out of my craw will not mention him again.
That's ITThat's IT
That's IT

...its the house with ht ered roof...off...off...off...in the distance. Good thing I'm not old and can walk with my pck on my back and the other in front.
Plugged INPlugged IN
Plugged IN

....have a whole afternoon to do my blogs and pics Yeah!
View from the WindowView from the Window
View from the Window

The hydrangeas are a very deep lavender ... I have also seen almost burgandy red ones.


10th October 2017

Highlights; pottery and a brewery ?, Hairy legs, tanksbetogot LOL,and the bus driver .
10th October 2017

Watch in the next blog for a picture of a salt pig ... I leave you in suspense. Happy you are enjoying the blogs...tansbetogot I am in a nice room for the next 3 days... pissing rain outside ... will start today's blog ;-) ;-) ;-)

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 18; dbt: 0.061s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb