Lairg to Ullapool, Scotland


Advertisement
Published: June 22nd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 57.8996, -5.1577

Ullapool, Scotland

We stopped about 11:45 to do a photo op of the old Oykel Bridge while standing on the new Oykel Bridge that goes over the Oykel River. One could not tell which bridge was the old one or new by their appearance, but it was nice to get off the bus for the lovely site. I am having a bad day dealing with the bus. I seem to notice the smells (mostly heavy doses of perfume and hand creams from the older women) and the cramp confines of the other people. We got into Ullapool about 12:45 made our lunch stop in a nice town by water. Usually on these stops I have allowed the older folks to be first to the restrooms and restaurants even though I am then rushed to eat at the end of the break. But this time I was one of the first ones off the bus and I headed directly to the restaurant that our tour guide recommended. According to the tour guide, The Seaforth (known as “the pub by the bay”😉 is one of the best fish and chips place in Great Britain. I finally had my fish and chips!!! The single piece covered most of my plate! With a Coke, my dinner cost just £ 10.50. It was very tasty! I was able to sit outside in behind and under protective plastic shielding, so that I could enjoy the sunshine (76º F) and being outdoors. We have had on and off showers ever since leaving the Oykel River, but here it was nice. I finished my delicious meal and took a walk along the quay side where there were a few shops. Then it was time (2:00...nice long break) to board the bus again.


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 16; qc: 31; dbt: 0.031s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb