Edinburgh!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Renfrewshire » Houston
January 29th 2006
Published: January 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

First ViewFirst ViewFirst View

When I left the train station, this was the view from the first road I walked down.
Edinburgh was amazing! I spent the day there on the 27th, and took almost twice as many photos as I did in London. The shopping was fabulous, the buildings were amazing, the sights were worth paying the fares to see, and I could have spent days and days there happy as a clam.

There's two sides to the city, divided neatly by the train station and rails. The New City, as it is misleadingly called, is a beautiful area, central of which lay some neatly organised streets arranged in a rectangular shape with two gardens/squares near either end. Rather indicative of what the Scots are like, I think. Very neat and organised and but still beautiful. The whole thing was designed and built in the 17th century, so you can just imagine all the amazing architecture. And this is the NEW City.

Across the tracks is the Old City, a beautiful jumble of architecture, arches, peaks, towers, and domes, architecture from many centuries standing side by side. I almost wish I studied history in relation to architecture because I'm sure it'd be absolutely fascinating; I find it fascinating not even knowing anything about it. The streets
Church and GraveyardChurch and GraveyardChurch and Graveyard

I had a neat birds-eye view of this church from the same road. I would have loved to have gotten a closer view during the day.
are more windy and curvey, smaller too, much more of the old European feel to them.

It seemed to me like the city was jam packed to the brim with history and beautiful buildings, and that's not even the best of it. Above this beautiful city, to put the cherry on the sundae of sorts, sits The Castle. You have to put capital letters because it's just that sort of Castle. Just how it sat on the hill above the Old City, how its gaze fell across all of Edinburgh, it seemed even now to be weighing matters above your understanding, your concern, you're just a commoner so get back out on the field and take care of your sheep before you get a cudgel in the back of the head for dawdling and staring too long. Okay so maybe that's going a bit far, but still, that's the idea. What a Castle.

I came back in the evening, sore feet but a camera full of photos, and it's been such a pleasure going through these ones. I hope you all like them. I finished putting up the London photos too. I've got to get going though, stuff going on around the house.

thinking I'd love to live here someday,
~Bev


Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

The William Scott MonumentThe William Scott Monument
The William Scott Monument

Often described as "a steeple without a church"
The obligatory bagpipe photoThe obligatory bagpipe photo
The obligatory bagpipe photo

I'm in Scotland, after all. Not taking a photo would be like going to the Arctic and not throwing a snowball.
Mons MegMons Meg
Mons Meg

There's a story behind this cannon, actually there's one behind the camera as well (harhar)
Lots of cannonsLots of cannons
Lots of cannons

Funny, that. What with being in a castle and all.
Dog CemetaryDog Cemetary
Dog Cemetary

This cemetary was for the soldier's dogs. I thought it was cute.
Guess what this is!Guess what this is!
Guess what this is!

Yes, more cannons.


30th January 2006

SO BLOODY JEALOUS!
seeing your photos made me remember how much i miss edingburgh. :(. ahh mons meg....(if you don't know the story i have it), the Castle. edingburgh in general...i miss you so. oh wait and ha ha i have a identical picture to that one through the castle wall...lol. glad to see that you;re having fun

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0452s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb