Orkney Traverse


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Orkney Islands » Stromness
August 31st 2017
Published: September 4th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Arose relatively early to the dreaded sound of rain in Thurso, which (thankfully) dissipated. Loaded bike and headed to ferry terminal 20 minutes away. Bike chain was acting up, ... stiff link, I think.

Pleasant 90 minute passage to Stromness for my 65km bike traverse to Burwick, which was the ferry terminal back to John O'Groat (start point for my N/S bike adventure). A rugged and picturesque coast line observed along the way. Note: German would be a good second language when traveling in Scotland. Also, all you can eat breakfast was a good deal on the ferry.

Disembarked in Stromness, a quick tour of town (tight streets, hillside location) and off I go. Numerous hills along the way, but the route was not onerous (discounting weight of cycle bags). Generally, a sunny/cloudy mix, with rain in the distance. After numerous kms of hills, inlets, and the occasional village the distance between me and the rain dissipated. A deluge then came as I crossed the causeways at Scapa Flow, and I just managed to get my rain gear on. Shortly the rain ceased, sun emerged, and bike chain started jumping again.
Made Burwick Ferry Terminal (?) with two hours to spare ... or did I? A solitary modular building at the end of a barge/dock. No one around, but some abandoned vehicles, and fishing gear. It was actually a waiting room/washroom, but unmanned. Signage indicated a ferry stopped here and it had current dating. Eventually the ferry arrived as did two other passengers,... then two busloads of passengers arrived.
After a 40 minute ferry ride, I disembarked at John O'Groats, had a quick picture taken at the start sign post (thank you German tourists) and head off to the Seaview Hotel for sustenance and accommodation. I had booked one of three Glamping Pods for the night, which proved quite nice. Two bunks, heat, electricity, usb plugins, and clean/tidy modern washroom/shower in an adjacent pod. After settling in, I headed across to the hotel for beer and food, interaction with the german tourists and wait staff, and then back to my pod to work on unseizing my chain links... Job done,.. off to bed.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0494s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb