Castles, Palaces, Distilleries and Cathedrals


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Moray » Elgin
March 3rd 2009
Published: March 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

This past Saturday was a busy one for me, but I'm not complaining!

I went with the International Society on a trip up north to visit Huntly Castle, Elgin Cathedral, Spynie Palace and Dallas Dhu Distillery.

We left at about 8:30am and headed out. It was super nice because they rent a nice coach bus for our touring adventures. I lucked out and had no one sitting next to me😊

Our first stop was Huntly Castle near Elgin, Scotland. The presidents of the International Society basically told us in between all our stops that all we had to do was to be back here in one hour. We got out and were allowed to wonder around all the ruins. I took so many pictures! The weather was absolutely wonderful so it was really a fine day. Next we stopped at Elgin Cathedral, which probably had the coolest ruins of the day. After that was Spynie Palace, which was out in the middle of nowhere, which made it even more enjoyable. Of course, the last stop was Dallas Dhu Distillery. It is not a working distillery anymore, but they had a neat audio-guided tour and great gift shop. Of course I had to buy a miniature bottle of whiskey along with a Dallas Dhu tub.

Then we headed back to Aberdeen. It was more relaxing, and it only cost 10 pounds for the trip!

Otherwise their has not been a whole lot happening that is too exciting. A bunch of us are finally realizing that we should probably start writing essays, considering that is all the homework we have to do.

Nate and his sister Hannah finally booked their trip over here at the end of May for a visit! I still don't know the details yet, but that's ok! They are coming! 😊 😊 😊

Tonight we are doing more spring break planning. Our spring break starts on March 28th and runs till April 19th. It will be a busy three weeks! We are starting our adventures in London and then from London we go to Paris. That's all we got as of right now.

This Saturday I am planning a day trip to St. Andrews. Hope the weather holds😊

I have discovered a love for Carlsberg Lager. I don't remember seeing it back in the States, but then again I was never looking for it. If anyone has the time, I would like to know if I should "stock" up now or enjoy it back home as well. You should also give it a try; it is quite tasty😊

As of next week, I am half way through my classes here in Scotland. Wow, time is flying!

Take care!
Cheers!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0589s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb