Edinburgh Castle and run up Arthur's Seat


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
September 9th 2014
Published: September 9th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Portcullis GatesPortcullis GatesPortcullis Gates

Here is one of the initial gates after entering the castle
Today I toured Edinburgh Castle for the first time. The castle sits atop a hill over-looking the Firth of Forth as well as the city itself. You can look out from virtually anywhere in the castle walls and see a panoramic view of the city, so there's a lot of photo opportunities.



Edinburgh Castle has quite a robust history. It was built in the 1100s, however, the land had been occupied and settled longer before that. Throughout its history it has served as the residence of monarchs, including Mary, Queen of Scots and as a base for military garrisons. Other than admiring the views from multiple points throughout the castle, you can tour the Royal Scots Dragoon Guards Regimental Museum, the Scottish War Memorial and the National War Museum. The Scottish National War Memorial is a large hall with vaulted ceilings dedicated to servicemen and women who perished in the two Great Wars.



I would write more about the history of the castle but I didn't purchase a guidebook because they're pricey and I probably wouldn't read much of it anyway! Hopefully my pictures speak for themselves.



Yesterday I jogged the loop around Arthur's Seat and the Crag's which are two mountains right within the city. Today I jogged the loop and also climbed up Arthur's Seat so I took a couple pictures of today's run.



I'm in the same accommodation as last year; however, all of the rooms have been renovated and now have new furnishings. It's great to be back here finally and I'm especially excited to get a start to my program (beginning next week)! Tomorrow is my first opportunity to meet my peers in the Arab World Studies program so I'm looking forward to that. Thanks for reading and I'll continue to keep everybody updated the next two years!


Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

One view of EdinburghOne view of Edinburgh
One view of Edinburgh

Here you can see the Sir Walter Scott Monument to the left and Calton Hill in the distance (centre)
Half-Moon BatteryHalf-Moon Battery
Half-Moon Battery

There are large black canons behind this wall
Building possessing the Scottish crown jewelsBuilding possessing the Scottish crown jewels
Building possessing the Scottish crown jewels

The crown jewels which were bequeathed to Scottish monarchs, such as Mary, Queen of Scots




9th September 2014
Arthur's Seat

The Royal Mile & Authors Seat
Andrew, I like the Royal Mile very Scottish & Authors Seat is spectacular, Beautiful stone work. Nice colors, thanks for the blog and pictures
10th September 2014

Edinburgh Castle
Nice pictures! Good job running up there!

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0486s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb