Flyiing solo


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
August 9th 2014
Published: September 7th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Last day in Edinburgh. One of Tricia’s mission was to run in Scotland and run in London. Today, we achieved 1 of the 2. We woke up early and went for run in the Gardens. Considering, I hadn’t worked out for the last few months, I told Tricia I wasn’t going to run with her, but I would walk. It was quite a site to see. Tricia would run and every few steps, she would stop to take a picture.. run a little, take a picture, run some more… take a picture. I did the same, but walking… You couldn’t help it… the gardens were quite and had very few people around. Perfect picture taking time. All in all, we ran about 40 minutes or so… run in Scotland, check!

After our run, the Rices went to spend some more time with the Aunties. I wanted to visit Calton Hill, so I decided to stay in the city for the day and explore on my own. I slowly made my way to Calton Hill by way of Princes Street.

Calton Hill is one of Edinburgh's main hills, set right in the city centre. It is unmistakable with an Athenian acropolis poking right above the skyline. The acropolis was meant to be a replica of the Parthenon in Athens, as a memorial to those who had died in the Napoleonic Wars. It was funny seeing people try to climb up the acropolis. I was going to try, but didn’t want to in case I couldn’t.

The view from Calton Hill were amazing. From the top of Calton Hill, I was able to take some fabulous panoramics city and the cliffs of Salisbury Crags, Arthur's Seat, and Holyrood Park.

Calton Hill also had Nelson's Monument. The Nelson Monument was inspired by Admiral Horatio Lord Nelson’s victory in the Battle of Trafalgar. I was able to climb the 143 steps up the tower to a truly 360 degree view of Edinburgh. As it was a clear day, I could even see the Forth Rail Bridge. Amazing.

After Calton Hill, I made my way back down Princes Street to do a little shopping at Primark and Marks and Spencers. Remarkably, on my way back to the flat, I ran into the Rices getting off the bus. So I took the boys back for a rest and met up with Jim, Tricia and Lily a little bit later for dinner in the Square. We met up at our Starbucks. Had dinner at the Bratwurst stand near there. The name escapes me now, but I think i had a Bratwurst Knawker…. sausage with sauerkraut. Not too bad for street food. After dinner, we called it an early night because we had to pack for London the next day. Edinburgh in summer gets two thumbs up from me.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Calton HillCalton Hill
Calton Hill

The Acropolis
Calton HillCalton Hill
Calton Hill

Nelson Monument
Calton HillCalton Hill
Calton Hill

Views from Nelson Monument
Calton HillCalton Hill
Calton Hill

Views from Nelson Monument


Tot: 0.182s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.077s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb