Edinburgh Castle, Haggis and Whisky Tour


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
January 29th 2013
Published: January 29th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Guinness and CiderGuinness and CiderGuinness and Cider

Guinness really does taste better in the UK. It was extra creamy and delicious. Charles, I'm ashamed to write, had a cider. To make matters worse, the cider was flavored with raspberries. Where did I go wrong? [SIGH]
Today went to Edinburgh Castle, ate Haggis at Deacon William Brodie's Tavern, and went on a whisky tour. It was a wee bit rainy and very windy but still fun.

At the Castle we saw the Scottish Crown Jewels and lot's of exhibits about the Scottish military. At the restaurant we ate haggis and drank. I had a couple pints of beer; sadly, Charles's had two pints of cider and--it pains me to write this--one of the pints of cider was flavored with raspberries. On the whisky tour we learned about how whisky is made. The whisky sampling portion of the tour was very interesting. During it I learned two things: 1. I really like the smokey flavor of whiskies from the Isle of Islay and, 2. French men begin giggling like little school girls when they drink--or at least when they drink whisky. During the tasting I closed my eyes and imagined that I heard Madeline and her classmates drinking tea and tittering about Miss Clavel.

I wanted to include some video of me driving in Scotland but the main video is taking too long to upload but here's a clip to tide you over until tomorrow. Good
Haggis and HaggisHaggis and HaggisHaggis and Haggis

My haggis (foreground) with neeps and tatters. Charles had vegetarian haggis (background)
night.




Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Westie Shaped Whisky DecanterWestie Shaped Whisky Decanter
Westie Shaped Whisky Decanter

I would feel much better about my Westie if he dispensed whisky.
Our Hotel RoomOur Hotel Room
Our Hotel Room

I guess I should have paid attention to my hotel's -5 star rating when I booked.
Royal Scots Guard and French Boy WW IIRoyal Scots Guard and French Boy WW II
Royal Scots Guard and French Boy WW II

Much like this picture where a Royal Scots Guardsmen is greeted by a starstruck and thankful French boy with a gift of bread, a young Sonny Tang once visited an American G.I. during The Vietnam war bearing a big bowl of Pho.
More WhiskyMore Whisky
More Whisky

Note the inebriated Frenchman slowly descending to the floor. Perhaps he should stick with Pierre next time
Deacon William BrodieDeacon William Brodie
Deacon William Brodie

The inspiration for R.L.S.'s Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde. He also makes great Haggis.


30th January 2013

Happy Birthday, Scottish traveler, Jeff. It sure looks like you two are having a great time. I love all the pictures and your comments...it almost feels like I am with the both of you. Enjoy your Birthday, Jeff. Can't wait to read what you did on your Birthday. Love, Mom
30th January 2013

Thanks, Mom
It's almost 10 am here. Charles and I are going to a few museums today. Should be fun.
3rd February 2013
Our Hotel Room

Is that hay?
Looks like fun to me!
4th February 2013
Our Hotel Room

It is hay...
For any sheep that might wonder by. It's a Scottish law.
3rd February 2013
Charles' hair is still green

Now I know....
what you would look like with hair...i mean GREEN hair...
3rd February 2013
Charles' hair is still green

Someone else is green...
...with envy over not getting any haggis flavored chips.

Tot: 0.256s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 5; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0409s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb