Scotchy-Scotch-Scotch


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
November 17th 2012
Published: November 28th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Sniper. Sniper. Sniper.

Had to catch a shot of a kilt-sporting Scotsman. Class!
There I was, 10am Saturday morning. Exhausted from the red-eye journey, I began primping and puckering in the watermarked mirror of the hostel bathroom. I changed focus in the reflection to see a mildly disheveled young lady approaching through the door. The calm on her face rapidly turned to panic. Then to fear. Then BLEEGGGHHH. Projectile vomit. I narrowly Matrix-dodged the stream (see video. there's no vomitting in it.) and avoided being drenched in the mixture of hostel brekkie and whisky shots from the previous night's shenanigans.





Wait for it.

Wait for it

Go.





I mean if that's not a warm welcome to Edinburgh, I don't know what is! Luckily, the rest of the weekend was good, clean, vomit-free fun. This was my first visit to the UK and I'm really looking forward to exploring more in the future. Mariana, Karina, and myself spent our 3 nights at the Smart City Hostel in old town Edinburgh. http://www.smartcityhostels.com/ The layout of the old town is so visitor-friendly and unique. Detailed buildings and cobblestone roads add more and more charm around every corner. Quirky closes (or alley-like streets) aptly named "Old
Castle ViewCastle ViewCastle View

Fountain and castle view from the Princes Street Gardens.
Fish Market" and "World's End" give an idea of what it all may have looked like centuries ago. Wind-blown bridges connect the historical old town and more "posh" new town. From new town's edge you can gaze in appreciation of the Princes Street Gardens and distant peeks at Edinburgh Castle atop its stunningly dramatic cliffs. *sigh*

I'll let my photos do the rest of the talking. They're far more beautiful then my descriptions could ever be.

Giggling at kilt-sporting locals, devouring haggis/sausage and mash, Scotch whisky tastings, distillery touring, traditional music by fireside, meeting the local highland "coo", underground vault ghost tours, and bagpipe accompaniment as we strolled the streets. I wouldn't hesitate at the chance to return to Edinburgh and I'd encourage anyone to add it to their must-see list.



Now it's time to submit the work I've completed, present my thesis progress to the powers that be, say goodbye to my sweet little students (sad face), and pack my bags. I'll be returning to Huntington Beach for the winter and spending some much needed quality time with my friends and family. After being away last year, I'm ready to run and snuggle (with our
Travel buds.Travel buds.Travel buds.

Karina, from Latvia, and Mariana, from Brazil! <3
pup, Ruby, of course), bake, laugh, and stroll (with my bright and warmhearted Mama), sing with and be serenaded (by my musically magical Fasha), decorate, shop, and goof around (with my 2 silly and sweet Seesters) and perhaps even burn some calories (with my favorite Big Bro Joshie.) What's that? You're feeling a bit chubby too?! Check out his gym! http://retributionfitness.com/

Late February I'll drive (hopefully with my Irish sidekick, Maeve) to the University of Virginia in Charlottesville for more teaching placement and thesis revisions. Stay tuned for holiday fun and springtime tomfoolery. And thanks for reading and supporting my journey. Your feedback is motivating and it's nice to know that I'm not talking to myself. 😊

SlĂ inte mhath,

Whitney


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

SkylineSkyline
Skyline

From atop Edinburgh Castle.
Piper.Piper.
Piper.

Standard street corner on a Sunday.
City CentreCity Centre
City Centre

Such a unique and beautiful city!
Edinburgh CastleEdinburgh Castle
Edinburgh Castle

Lovely blue day spent here touring the castle and exhibits. We loved every bit!
Hairy coos!Hairy coos!
Hairy coos!

Pronounced "coo" these Highland Cows were the highlight of our rainy day tour to Loch Lomond!
HaggisHaggis
Haggis

Google it. Mega-yum.


28th November 2012

I am going to miss you sooo much!!
28th November 2012

Present and accounted for
Looking forward to you coming home for a bit Whit..... :)

Tot: 0.267s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0606s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb