Edinburgh Days 5 & 6 - working on a heart attack - one meal at a time.


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
August 4th 2011
Published: August 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

With my gift voucher from Jemma in hand, we headed over to Harvey Nichols. I had trouble finding something there because it's of course all designer brands that really aren't appreciated where I live. I also couldn't find anything that I really loved. Then, I headed my way to the sunglasses.....and there I found a pair of Alexander McQueen's and ended up buying them. As for the price tag....don't ask.

We hit a couple of other stores, but since we really don't get moving early in the morning, it was already time to head back to the Mile and near the castle for our 1PM lunch reservation at the Witchery (I tried to make the reservation for dinner, but the only times available were 2200 or 2300...um, that's a touch late). We sat in the secret garden room and ended up going for the 3 course for 30 GBP. We both started with watercress and potato soup (which looked really gross, but was quite good), then I had the gnocchi with ricotta and mint and the creme brulee, and Cor had the lamb with raspberry pavlova. The food was comparable to other fine dining that we've been to, but the
My lunchMy lunchMy lunch

Gnocchi with ricotta and mint
service was very good. It seemed like there was constantly someone coming around to check on us. We were both stuffed when we were done.

Early evening, we checked out our first Fringe show at the Assembly in George Square at a temporary venue called the Dans Paleis. It was really cool, and looked like it was a permanent structure as it had a bar, wooden floors and tables surrounding the perimeter. The show was really good - we saw the Billie Holiday Story. It was however, 14GBP (and I think that the price was going up once Fringe actually starts on the 5th) and I got the impression that the price was kind of expensive for an relatively unknown act at Fringe.

After the show, we hit up the Clamshell on the Mile because last year I was able to try a deep fried cheeseburger and planned to have a whole one this year. We each had a cheeseburger and shared chips (although the chips were kind of disappointing compared to other places that I've been). The burger had the cheese and the meat mixed together and then the patty is lightly breaded and deep fried. You can then get it in a roll if you want. While I wouldn't have one all of the time because it's likely death in a roll, it really was delicious.

The next day, we were slow moving (again), and ended up meeting a few people at Yes Sushi on Hanover Street. Cor and I had eaten breakfast at home not long before, but we still decided that we should get a crispy duck roll, vegetable tempura, and vegetable gyoza. While I would like to say this was okay and pricey for what it is, I probably shouldn't because I was already full and trying to pile food on top of that, which doesn't make for a great review!

We then hit up a couple of shops, and then Cor and I decided to head over to the National Gallery of Scotland (which luckily is open until 7PM on Thursdays) on the mound because we wanted to see the 'Queen - Art & Image' because the picture for the show is of the queen with her eyes closed. It was a little pricey for the number of photographs (7 GBP), but definitely worth a look. At first, when it
Cor's dessertCor's dessertCor's dessert

Raspberry pavlova
showed pictures of the 50's and 60's, I was a little bored and it wasn't what I thought. But once you shaw the whole show, it made sense because it shows the whole progression of how the queen has been perceived throughout the years.

We then tried to head to Thai Orchid on Johnston Terrace for supper because we heard good things, but they were full up. So we headed back to the Mile and met a few people for some Italian at Gordon's Trattoria. Corwin had pizza 3 figlae (goat cheese, rocket, italian sausage and red onion), and I had Spaghetti Verdura (spinach, broccoli, olive oil, parsley and garlic).

We then headed back to Assembly at George Square (again in the Dans Paleis) in order to check out Margaret Cho for Fringe (the show was cheap at 8GBP, although I think that it goes up after the 5th). The show was really good - of course, pushing the envelope.

Finally, we had a couple of drinks in George Square and then headed over to C venue that is another Fringe venue that can be accessed off of both Chambers Street (next to the Jazz Bar) or the Cowgate. Everyone had snacks that they didn't really need (chips & cheese, sausages, noodles), a couple of drinks, and then we headed home.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

My lunchMy lunch
My lunch

Gnocchi with ricotta and mint
Cor's dessertCor's dessert
Cor's dessert

Raspberry pavlova
Clogging our arteriesClogging our arteries
Clogging our arteries

with a deep fried cheeseburger and chips from Clamshell
Outside the Dans PaleisOutside the Dans Paleis
Outside the Dans Paleis

after Margaret Cho


Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0364s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb