Jogle April 25th 2011


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
April 25th 2011
Published: May 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I left the travelodge early , i was shattered , exhausted from no sleep and a bit daunted at todays target ride Carlisle! , this was to take me out of Edinburgh via Loanhead to Pencuik on to Moffat on the A701. i navigated out of the city using a travelodge map , on a steep incline i hit my brakes and was horrified to see my front wheel move .I stopped only to find that the skewer nut had sheered its thread and would not tighten up ...not good news on a holiday Monday at 07.15 am , i mused as to what to do and opushed the bike a little way down the hill...i weas amamzed to see a figure working in a shop Edinburgh cycles ...bloody hell there is a god , this man duly replasced the damaged nut and refused any payment !!!thank you .
Out on the road again i stopped in Pencuik to buyb baby powder , this i continued to squirt down my bibshorts to to cool off me Trossachs ! i had a sore , almost like a burn at the top of my left leg this was painful but it helped using the powder although i must have looked like a bloody quarry lorry with the amount of dust coming out of my shorts lol.
The big hill out of Howgate was a stiif climb but with the views opening up it was pleasant enough,i stopped at a small road junction to West Linton to brew a coffee , the weather was lovely.
I felt better for the brew and looked at the map closely to seeif the West Linton rd was an option ..it was , and it was great , big views ,no traffic very peaceful.I rejioned the A701 via the B7059.
The road then rose through Blyth Bridge - Broughton - ( great Tea Room )passed the source of the River Tweed and on to Moffat. Moffat I did lunch , this is a pretty market town full of tourists.the drop into Moffat was the highlight though a 4 mile fast decent on good roads 😊.
After lunch I picked up the B7076 through Lockerbie- Gretna Green and into Carlisle more importantly back into England ...job done . into a local B&B and a pub meal .
Mileage today 112 my first 100 + day
total to date 407

Advertisement



Tot: 0.3s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0402s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb