Scotland


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
July 26th 2009
Published: July 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in Scotland this morning. I took a very cheap ($51 CAN) and very short flight from Dublin to Edinburgh. It was less than an hour. I had a window seat with 2 empty seats beside me. This is unheard of on Ryan Air. It was sunny when I left Dublin and rainy when I arrived here. On occasion when the sun came out it was really warm, however, that was not often.

My hostel is great. I am staying in a very large room with about 14 girls. I was lucky enough to get a room by the window. I met a couple really nice girls from Australia. They are quite young (18) and on their first European adventure. The guy working the front desk is from New Brunswick. He is having a great time and I don't think plans to go home any time soon.

Today I took a couple hop-on, hop-off buses. Edinburgh has 4 in total. I also visited The Palace of Holyroodhouse which is the Queen's official residence in Scotland. Apparently, Prince Charles had a reception in the Throne Room on Friday night. He had obviously left if we were allowed in again. I found it quite interesting. More notably it was Mary, Queen of Scots residence. There were many interesting stories from her time period.

Tomorrow will be a busy day. I plan to go to Edinburgh Castle (which is right beside my hostel), the Royal Yacht Britannia, and the Royal Botanical Gardens. At this point I think all three are possible. If not, the Gardens will be missed as I have not yet bought a ticket there. The Queen had lovely gardens today so I might not be missing much.

Tuesday the crazy tour begins. We leave Edinburgh early in the morning and are gone for 9 days. It should be lots of fun.

Steph



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



26th July 2009

Sounds like a great holiday
Hi Steph: It sounds like you are having a great holiday. We liked Belfast and it sounds like you went on the same tour as we did. Edinburgh was also very good. Thanks for sharing your experiences.

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0459s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb