The Edinburgh Life thus far...


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
October 24th 2007
Published: October 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hi again... A lot has happened in the short time since my last blog... I'm working in a couple of bar/cafes here now, one at a place with Jase and Ryan (two boys I'm here with). It's a really relaxed bar/restaurant that plays a lot of Jazz. It's a cruisy workplace, the whole work ethic here is very laid back. If it's not busy, you aren't really expected to do anything. The other bar is a Karova-ish type bar, I've only done one shift there. It was also pretty laid back and a couple of hours into the shift the supervisor announced "Staff meeting". I didn't know what was going on cos the bar was really busy - rugby grandfinal. But apparently it is custom for all the staff to stop serving, while the patrons look on, to have "Staff meetings", aka shots or "morale boosters". Ok with me!
But I wanted to write tonight (its 2:30am here, I've not long finished work) to the people at ESTA... So tonight at work, this lady comes in who seems ok, I make her a White Russian and have a bit of a chat. Next thing she gets up and staggers to the toilets where she remains for some time. She comes out and puts her lighter or something similar into her pocket. I say to the supervisor, I reckon she just had a ciggie in there... I'll just finish my tea then I'll go check if it's smoky. Then, a second customer walks out, kinda pale, and goes "The toilet is on fire..." We jumped up and went into the toilet, which is just one disabled toilet, and at the back of it theres a door that doesn't lock. Inside there is a water boiler and there is this fire next to it, flames and all! Quick thinking from Scottish Fireman Sam and we got it out so no great drama... But is it a 611, a 623 or other??? Can't believe I even remember any of them! But anyway, I thought it was amusing that I'd gone from taking fire calls to making them...
So anyway, for those of you that didn't understand or care about any of that... Haven't really been up to much else. Life here is amazing and a novelty. You are anonymous and you just get to have so many wee conversations and be in wee incidents that make you smile. Its not as easy as we first thought, we're getting paid minimum wage (£5.35=approx (AU)$13) and paying very high living costs. So it's hard to save money and actually get to travel much... But the experience itself is great. We booked tix to Norway last night for Jason's birthday... Got them for £10 return (CHEAP!!!) so we're just going for a couple of nights which will be amazing...
Sorry I've been really lazy with the camera and don't have any good pictures of Edinburgh itself yet, but I promise I will get there... Thats bout it for now, I'm pretty tired and apparently have a house inspection in the morning - we're moving house soon. So goodnight and goodbye, miss you all as always. Hope everyone is well... Oh yeah... to the ESTA people again... How's Julie? Has she had her baby yet?

Ok, bye now...


Advertisement



24th October 2007

RE: Julie
Hey hey Sarah girl! Yes, Julie had her baby 7.30PM last night. Little girl (Hannah May - Spelling probably WAY off), around 2.2KG I was told. TINY apparently. Keep in touch :D
24th October 2007

A 611 as it was inside. lol. You sound like you're living the life. Loving these blogs, I'm travelling vicariously through you. Keep safe.
3rd November 2007

I'm so jealous of you!! Jess told me you'd headed os. Hope your having a great time.
4th November 2007

all sounds good
hey love - its lovely to read and travel blog and NOT have to write them, all sounds good in the land of the double decker bus ...... glad that you have a job or 2 and at least you get free booze !!!!! Have you bags and ryan all worked a shift togeather yet??? Its cool that you have booked a trip out of the country ????? Norway will be amazing, all is good here i am writing this to you on our new laptop (its lovely) Glen says hi he is working in Townsville saving the world from disease and illness i am currently working at xbase its a 200 bed youth hostel on the island its really cool but madness sometimes, i am loving not working in a call center (as you would well understand) Well thats all love i hope you are well miss you , look after yourself love steph xoxoxoxo
14th December 2007

You've gone missing!
Hey girl... we've not heard from you in a while, so how's things over there? Enjoying a cold change? Hey, you'll be missing out on Summer for quite a while! Sucks to be you :p In all honesty, I'm very envious, live it up girl, and keep in touch!

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0413s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb