Summer afternoon in Edinburgh


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
June 18th 2007
Published: June 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone

Apologies for my absence for the last few days. I've found it very tough going. I'm sure Peter will have been entertaining you well.

It's a nice afternoon in Edinburgh ie it's not raining! It's really more like Brisbane in July but the locals are out and about in shorts and tops and not seeming to notice the lack of sun and heat. I think they're a very optimistic lot in Scotland...the shops are full of summer clothes and even swimmers!!!

The food situation has been quite difficult. I always have problems in countries which eat a lot of bread/pasta etc. However there are ALWAYS Indian restaurants everywhere in the world and Edinburgh is not exception. We had some fantastic Pakistani food yesterday!

I look longingly at the pasties, sausage rolls, scones etc! I've decided to try soup for breakfast. The local bacon which tastes delicious seems to disagree with me. Enough of the digestive details!!

For you poor souls in Brisbane and Melbourne, I thought I'd describe the (bathing) water situation at our hotel. The bath is longer than me, twice as wide and way deep. It takes a gazillion litres to fill up and it feels FANTASTIC to wallow in hot water. I'm sorry I don't feel at all guilty. I'm having a holiday from 140 litres per day. The shower is like standing under a waterfall and you don't have to look at the shower timer to see how much longer you've got left. Blissful!

Last night Peter had a drink with one of his friends Misako Udo who is a luminary of the malt whisky world. I stayed home and watched CSI. This afternoon he's off to a tasting at the Scotch Malt Whisky Society Vaults. I'm having a quiet few hours.

Well, I must be off. The computer is in a large drawing room (in a large georgian house) with all the right furtniture and I can hear someone behind me delicately flicking through a magazine, no doubt waiting for me to leave, so I'd best oblige!

I hope you are all well.

love

Sandy


Advertisement



Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0217s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb