"THIS IS HOME"


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Dalkeith
February 9th 2012
Published: February 10th 2012
Edit Blog Post

AirportAirportAirport

Good ole' Green Bay airport
Before you begin to read this...

I am not an English major and I never will be! I know my grammar is not the greatest; do not critque me!

-Love, Nikki





February 2

I wish I had started this blog earlier so that I could be more detailed with the happenings of the last few days; I am still kicking myself for forgetting the journal I bought at home. I promise my next entries will be better from now on.

I arrived in Edinburgh around 13:05; I am going to refer to military time in my blog since that is how they have travel times over here. Since I and four other girls missed the shuttle services provided to us by the programme (this is how the British spell it) we had scheduled a taxi van ahead of time. It was quite odd having our driver climb into the right side of the van. Traffic here is definitely faster than at home, even in quieter areas off the freeway traffic seems to click by at mach speed. The many roundabouts may or may not have something to do with that.

We
Travel BuddyTravel BuddyTravel Buddy

Thankfully I had Kiaya during all of my flights to Edinburgh.
were welcomed to Dalkeith Palace/House by evacuating the building shortly after being shown to our rooms. Our director had attempted to start a fire in one of the old fireplaces so that the dining room would be warm enough for later. Thankfully the flames were containable, 300 year old oak wood paneling would have went up pretty fast. After our wonderful dinner of cottage pie made by our wonderful cordon bleu chef, Henry, a few girls and I ventured out to the local pubs. I believe I have found a current replacement for Mel's Midtowner back in River Falls! Mayson's is owned and ran by Gavin who is absolutely amazing and interesting to talk to. The pub has been in his family for years and he loves the students from the programme, he actually has pictures of them hanging in the billard room of the pub. He patiently answered any questions we asked him and even gave us our first shot of Scottish whisky, Glayva. It was delicious! May I mention that I had a new experience with shots, they put ice in them here. We also met one of the other bartenders, Clare, who we have made plans to
Dalkeith PalaceDalkeith PalaceDalkeith Palace

This is my home for the semester!
do dinner and drinks with in the future.

As we left Mayson's somehow we ended up meeting two older local ladies and they took us to the Horseshoe Bar & Lounge, where we took another shot and danced with them. That is another thing that I noticed, unlike back in the states, people do not stop going out after a certain age. In both bars, with the exception of a couple people, everyone was 40 or older. Although we have been told that Scotland has a bit of a drinking problem it has a zero tolerance for drinking and driving, which was comforting to hear. I thought it was pretty cool that a vast majority of the older people here do not think they are "too old" to go out anymore. Plus they are extremely friendly when we tell them that we are Americans.



February 3

Friday was my first full day in Scotland, orientation was in the morning and then were given a bag lunch and sent off to Edinburgh to accustom ourselves to the bus system. We had to break up to groups and then were assigned to an American professor. The professors
WIS ProgrammeWIS ProgrammeWIS Programme

The carving on the front door of Dalkeith Palace
that I was with ended up taking us on the wrong bus but we still found some way to beat the other two groups to our destination on Northbridge Road. From there we walked up the Royal Mile and were given passes to enter Edinburgh Castle. This castle was absolutely amazing and words truly cannot describe it. Some of the oak ceilings are over 1,000 years old. Weddings and receptions are common there, I can only imagine the price, but if I could afford it that would be me dream wedding! The group I was with dwindled down to just me and my old roommate from college, Erin. We were the only ones to stay in the Castle until close. We found a cute and reasonably Italian restaurant off the main drag and had Greek Masnalog, it is like a lasagna but with potatoes for noodles and lamb, served with hummus and couscous on the side. After tea we headed back to the bus stop and were able to return to Dalkeith without getting lost.



February 4

In older times Scotland had clans, which is similar to the idea of Native American tribes. Each clan has
PeacockPeacockPeacock

Hanging out on the front porch.
a motto, history and its most distinguishing feature, a clan tartan. On Saturday we had to break into our assigned clans, I belong to Clan Stewart, and take part in an "Amazing Race" just like the TV show but limited to Edinburgh. We were given a map and a list of instructions and clues that took us all over the city. It was not the nicest weather to be in as it was raining the whole time and cold and windy. The weather did put a damper on some of my clans' spirits but I still had a blast. I totally think I could do the real race if partnered up with the person.



February 5

Sunday was filled with more orientation material and we ended up having a three hour break before dinner. So Erin and I took a walk around the estate and it was awesome, I cannot wait to start running again! There are not as many Scottish Highlanders around the property as in previous years (sorry Kate) but horse boarding facilities and trails galore. I actually saw the big old draft horse that I might get to ride throughout the semester and
Mayson's PubMayson's PubMayson's Pub

My new replacement for Mel's Midtowner!
Stef you were not kidding he is a beast! I am thinking that mounting could be a wee bit of a challenge. After dinner we had a local dance instructor show us some Scottish Ceildh dances. It was so much fun and I cannot wait to go to some ceildhs at Edinburgh University.



February 6

Classes and clan duties started on Monday and that took up most of my day, Erin and I barely had enough time to run to Tesco (sort of like a mini super Wal-Mart) for some necessities and weekend food. I finally put up photos on Facebook so if you have an account you should take a look.



February 7

I went for my first run in Scotland this morning! It was picture perfect weather and all I wore was a long sleeve and shorts, that's right Wisconsin runners be jealous! I decided to be adventurous after crossing Montague Bridge and did some off-roading on some of the unmarked trails. At my fist dead end I found that one of the tenants on the estate must have taken up beekeeping, thank God it is still chilly here and I did not disturb them. Being stung by thousands of bees would not have been one of my highlights from the semester. Somehow I found my way back up to the main road and found a map but shortly after leaving it I was lost again, it is pretty easy to get lost on 800 acres. Many large green pastures were passed and filled with either blanketed horses or beef cattle slowly grazing or meandering around. My off-roading experience as continued to as more side paths were discovered, although I stayed close to the river hoping to end up back at the house. About an hour later, I ended behind the laundry house. I still cannot figure out how I ended up way over there, maybe after a month of running I will have the trails figured out. I know I will be in shape because it is a wee bit hilly!

I finally was able to meet Cameron Manson today, he will be the supervisor for my internship. I now understand why Patty, our director, calls him Prince Charming. Cameron is the perfect example of a old Scottish gentleman and I cannot wait to begin working with him after her returns from holiday (Americans call it vacation). When placed with Cameron I was under the impression that I would be working with animals but that may not be the case. Right now Cameron has received a grant to work on a project within the Dalkeith estate. Along with some other researchers, he will be doing studies on some of the old oak trees on the property. There is a chance that these trees may be some of the oldest in Europe. To some of you this may sound pretty boring but during some of the earlier wars the United Kingdoms were almost completely wiped out of oak wood due to the building of battle ships for the British navy. I will find out what my exact role in this research will be soon. I might also get the opportunity to help with an archeological dig later in the semester.

Before I forget, supper was absolutely amazing tonight; it was chicken kiev, corn, and the most amazing mashed potatoes I have ever tasted. Desert, some sort of meringue with fruit , was almost too pretty to eat. I cannot wait to take Henry's cooking classes and I am
Mountain Biking: Font ViewMountain Biking: Font ViewMountain Biking: Font View

Sort of hard to see but I was covered in mud spots...wait til you see my backside.
sure my family will appreciate some of my new skills also.



February 8

Darn it! I should have had this up almost a week ago but it's so hard to go and search for a spot where my computer will pick up the internet when my bedroom is the warmest place in the house. Well this morning started out with another run. It was a wee bit colder than yesterday; I had to wear a hat with my long sleeve shirt and shorts (I am going to continue to rub in this luxury to all my running mates at home). Although I was welcomed back to the house by all four of the male peacocks that freely wander around the estate. As I sprinted the last few feet to the front parking area all of them raised their tails into full fans; it was almost like they were saluting my return home. The necessity of a camera on my runs is becoming more and more apparent.

For those of you who know me fairly well you are going to be slightly surprised by this next statement. I, Nikki DeFere, did not procrastinate on my homework
Mountain Biking: Back ViewMountain Biking: Back ViewMountain Biking: Back View

I was basically plastered with mud.
today and I am actually ahead of the game, now! My writing assignment due tomorrow at noon is already sitting in the teacher's mailbox and my reading assignment for next Wednesday is completed. Shock and awe, I know! I actually had time to sit down and start thinking about planning my spring break and other weekend trips, right now it's a close four-way tie between Ireland, Germany, Italy, and France. Spain may pop up but I guess I should figure that out fairly soon. Well my bed looks amazing right now and it is 23:24 here at the moment, so good-night folks! I have my whole day planned out tomorrow and it involves exercising, shopping, and pub hopping in Edinburgh; beauty sleep is a must.




February 9

Well it was raining out this morning; I am actually surprised it hasn't rained more while I've been here. Decided to mix up the exercise routine this morning and took out one of the house's mountain bikes. There's a very good chance that the Fusion and I will become best friends. At first the game plan was to avoid any of the large mud puddles throughout the trail
Arthur's SeatArthur's SeatArthur's Seat

Me on top of Arthur's Seat
but that only last for a few minutes; pretty soon I was racing through every pool of water available. Needless to say when we returned to the front drive I was covered head to toe in mud and soaking wet; it was a blast! More rain is scheduled for tomorrow; hopefully the Fusion is ready for another mud bath!


It is an interesting and exciting time to be in Scotland, as it will soon be voting for its independence from Great Britain (England, Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland). We will be discussing in class what this separation will mean to both Scotland and England.



February 10

Last night I went out with a large group to the pubs in Edinburgh. I will state this nicely, but due to some circumstances we were not able to go to very many pubs. My recommendations, if you ever go abroad make sure you bring your driver's license (it was NOT me who forgot) with you to the pubs and clubs because they do have bouncers and they will check to make sure you are of age. Even another card with some sort of current photo ID is very helpful. The best part of the night was when Erin and I left our big group and went into an Irish pub called Finnegan's Wake; there was a live band and the pub itself had a great college atmosphere. You would not believe all of the American music they play over here and some of it is pretty old, which is awesome! Erin and I even met a couple of cute guys who we might possibly meet up with on Saturday.

Today I found out how the Royal Mile received its name. The Mile is a hilled street, at the top lies Edinburgh Castle and at the bottom you may find Holyrood Palace, hence the name "Royal Mile". When ever the Queen comes to Edinburgh she stays at the palace. Right across the road from the palace is Holyrood Park, which is absolutely gorgeous and visiting again is an ultimate must. A large group of us went down into Edinburgh to hike Arthur's Seat, which is the highest point in the park and part of a extinct volcano system. I found out that I am in better shape than previously thought and maybe the Edinburgh Rock and Roll
Holyrood ParkHolyrood ParkHolyrood Park

One of many views of the park.
Half-Marathon is not completely out of the question; especially if I countinue to vist the park to walk and run the monstrous hills.

Friday through Sunday the students are on their own for meals, so when Erin and I returned to Dalkeith we hunted down The Black Bull. I was told by several of the other students that it was reasonably priced and the food was excellent. The lentil and bacon soup was oober yummy and so were my chips (fries) and Bull Burger: hamburger patty, lettuce, tomatoes, onion, jalapenos, chili, cheese. So far there has not been a meal in Scotland that has not totally satisfied my taste buds.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0475s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb