A tiring day, a wild night.


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Dalkeith
September 8th 2007
Published: September 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

We went to Edinburgh for the first time today...it was very cool. We climbed Arthur's Seat and that was so steep and rocky...we literally had to climb rocks at time. I stopped about halfway and didn't think my legs could go on, but I decided I better do it and I am so glad I did (even though it killed). The view was amazing and it was so cool to look from the bottom up at how high we climbed. Afterward, a few of the girls and I went and found a nice little place to eat and got a couple souvenirs.

As for the bus ride home, THAT was an ordeal...first we got on the wrong bus, so we had to switch around...when we did, there were some meth addicts with their pitbull sitting by us yelling at us and falling out of their seats. Then we passed Dalkeith but thought there was another stop, and we just went straight on to the next town so we had to get on ANOTHER bus back. It was so funny but we were all so tired and just wanted to get back to the castle. And I thought the "reekin" Scottish boys we met last night were bad...

I'm having trouble finding veggie friendly places here too, which I didn't think it would be...Edinburgh seems to have more places, but I haven't had a chance really to explore Dalkeith so I hope to do that tomorrow and this week.

I hope all is well on the home front...send me an email sometime!

***EDIT*** Here are my pictures... Pictures


Advertisement



9th September 2007

post yo!
Post some pics yo! I want to see where you are living!!!
9th September 2007

Mom Misses YOU!!
Hey Britt - I've been reading your blog (thanks for updating this!) and am SO glad you arrived safely. I miss you terribly! But so glad you are there and getting into a new routine. Your dad keeps asking for a kilt! You have to help me! Him and Dexie Do are driving me crazy already....your pics were awesome. I loved them! Stay safe and enjoy exploring the world....wish I was there. Love - mom
9th September 2007

Love the pictures
Hi Britt! The pictures look really cool. I like the one with your average, streetcorner Scottish warrior. ;) You kids look so metal! So, the individual shelter by the castle--what is that? Just curious. Thanks for bringing the rest of us along on your little adventure. Peace, Jeff
9th September 2007

Shelter
Do you mean the parts with the scaffolding (sp?) and plastic? If so, that's the palace still but the roof is still under construction...after all this baby was built in the 12th century so it needs a lot of maintenance hehe.
10th September 2007

Shelter
Actually, I was curious about the thing you were standing in, that looks like a "shelter for one".
10th September 2007

Oh THAT castle...I am assuming it is a guard station.
11th September 2007

Guard station...
Of course...how could I be so thick-headed? Thanks! It's good to see you chime in every now and again on FS. As for me, we're trying to hunt up my favorite of all pictures of myself, with the late 80s mullet, as promised. Keep us all posted on your adventures! Peace, Jeff
12th September 2007

veggie
Susie's Diner near Edinburgh University (opposite the Pear Tree pub off Niccolson street) has excellent veggie food and Henderson's - Hanover street I think - has nice veggie food too. Maybe you know these already.
12th September 2007

Wonderful, thank you. I will check them out. I noticed a couple places that specialize in veggie food or have a lot of vegetarian items...yay!

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0489s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb