St Kilda (work party 3) June 2006 Day 17


Advertisement
Published: November 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Day 17
The reality that the adventure was nearly over was beginning to sink in and that after breakfast the work party would begin to fragment, as we were to take our different ways back to our homes on the mainland.Some of us were to tavel to Stornoway by bus to catch flights from the airport,whilst others picked up cars to take them on to the ferrys.The local feeder bus arrived at the youth hostel and farewells were said to those going by car.In Tarbert it became clear that the bus timetable at the hostel was "telling lies",as the bus to Stornoway would not arrive in time for me to catch the flight to Edinburgh.The ever resourceful Terry had a "cunning plan",hire a taxi ! a phone call and 5 minutes later Terry, Sue, Steve and myself were on the way to the airport.Whilst I was to fly to Edinburgh the others were going via Glasgow, so in no time at all I was alone in the clouds reflecting on my experiance of the last 17 days.
On the bus into Edinburgh it was soon clear that I was overdressed,having been whisked away from the Outer Isles,a chilly,windy 13' to a balmy 22' here in the capital,my wet weather gear seemed totaly out of place but was I bovvvered??????.A pint at the railway station was in order before I boarded the train for York, which managed to break down for an hour and a half when the computers on the two locos stopped talking to one another!!! wasn't it great to be back in the hi tec world, I just wondered what the St Kildans would have made of it all?maybe the parliament would have sorted it out in their own good time.So here I was at last, arriving at platform 3 with all the family to greet me.I sure had missed them and from now on I would have to rely on memories,photos and this travel-blog to remind me of such a wonderful time.

THE END


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



18th November 2007

Memories - Memories
Having just come back from the 2007 ReUnion, what a lovely surprise to see your diary, John - bringing back memories of you and all on a superb work party - with many stange happening - all will remember the Petrol Heads - and handling the stormy and Leach's petrels - for me a unque and quite simply a brilliant memory - we now await the film of it all, Terry!! Best wishes to you John and all who read this - the work parties are back on for 2008 - perhaps we will meet gain on St Kilda - Best wishes Hugh

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0648s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb