Tulloch Castle, Eilean Donan Castle and Isle of Skye


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Inverness-shire » Isle of Skye
February 7th 2013
Published: February 7th 2013
Edit Blog Post



Yesterday we didn't do much. The 12 noon ferry was canceled because of bad weather so we had to stay on Orkney until 5pm. The crossing was very rough. I kept my eyes closed the entire time so I wouldn't get sea sick.

After the ferry arrived at Thurso we made it as far as Dingwell before we stopped for the night. We stayed at Tulloch Castle Hotel. This was the first time I spent the night in a castle. One thing about castles, though; they don't have modern plumbing. At first I couldn't get any water from the shower. Then I discovered that a power switched had to be turned on first for the water to be pumped to the shower. All this bother is probably why Henry VIII didn't take many showers.

The drive from Tulloch Castle to Eilean Donan Castle was breathtaking. So many lochs and mountains. I most have pulled over a dozen times to take pictures. Charles stayed in the car reading his book and listening to Frank Zappa. Zappa is not a good soundtrack for traveling through the highlands--he's too weird. The Smiths or Morrissey would have been a better choice.

Eilean Donan Castle is supposed to be the most photographed castle in Great Britain. I believe it. It has also been featured in such movies as Braveheart and Highlander. We had another guided tour--always nice. The castle was originally built in the 13th century but almost completely destroyed by the British during a Scottish uprising in the 18th century. One hundred years ago it was rebuilt by a wealthy family. Besides being a movie location, the castle can also be rented for weddings. A word of warning: not all weddings that take place in castles end well. Just ask Catherine of Aragon, Anne Boleyn or Catherine Howard. Perhaps if castles had better plumbing fewer marriages that begin in one would end in divorce or a beheading.

The drive around The Isle of Skype was very nice. Breathtaking lochs and snow-caped mountains. I must have taken several hundred pictures. We ate lunch in Portree--the largest city on the Isle. I had Haggis Pizza. I think I'm all hagiss-ed out now. I'm not all whisky-ed out, though. Charles and I have decided to drink all of the whisky we bought in Edinburgh because it might break in our suitcase.

Tomorrow we return to Edinburgh for our last full day in Scotland. We may see a movie, eat more Indian food and probably buy more whisky.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



22nd February 2013

Thanks
Just wanted to thank you for posting this blog and the pictures/videos. It was entertaining and informative and I really enjoyed it. I can't wait until next Spring when I get to go to Scotland!

Tot: 0.253s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.046s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb