And Finally, Cairns to Kildonan


Advertisement
Published: July 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

On Monday 25th June I left my cosy hostel (big up for Travellers Oasis) my tip for Cairns is if you're prepared to go the far side of Cairns Central Shopping Central you'll get better comfort and peace at night for your money but still be in easy reach of where the action is.

Took my final flights, first of all the sharp turn on take off from Cairns International, wish they did not insist on getting there 3 hours early, there is not a lot to do in their departure lounge. Had a short stop at Darwin, took in the heat in the only outside space I could find, the smokers area. Had the luxury of the emergency exit seats but this meant in the event of an emergency, I would have the responsibility to assist the cabin crew and get everyone out safetly, I'm sure that in such an event I would of not failed in my duties.

Once again had my little stopover in good old Singapore Airport, hours going round all the little shops and eateries doing a bit of the relatively cheap but high quality shopping and taking advantage of the hotel showers, and sitting out in the steamingly hot gardens with a cold beer in hand, it's the way to tackle long haul travel!

Then continued on in a Qantas 747, nice smooth journey in between interesting people, always helps when you've got people to have a blether with (at the right moments) and swooped into Heathrow, was fun flying over West London and spotting all my stomping grounds from my 4 years there.

And then crossed over to Gatwick and Easyjet to Inverness, Ma and Pa there to pick me up and was soon back at Kildonan, long journey, no problems, it's how you approach them, mind you some days of pretty full-on jetlag folllowed.

So that is the story of my travels,

for now!

Thanks for reading.





Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0361s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb