Day 3: Inverness Layover


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Inverness-shire » Inverness
September 3rd 2017
Published: September 6th 2017
Edit Blog Post

As I decided not to overdo the daily riding, I took my interim rest stop and tacky tourist tour day today. There's plenty of riding to come, and I'm also hoping to avoid saddle sores. My lack of belief in such things, during my last excursion, proved false, embarassing, and somewhat painful.

Campground showers come in all forms and qualities, and this campground proved no less so. The showers are best described as early period prison block. Long and narrow, elbows and back touched walls and curtains on every movement. The shower itself, and a little beyond, was painted dark, dark depressing blue, with little illumination from lighting. No such concept as scald control on vintage showers either. Possibly all attempt to discourage excess water use.

In an attempt to control spending and limit the tradional full British breakfast, I was in town early and partook of McD's offerings and their discounted java.

I headed off for my bus/boat tour of Loch Ness, which turned out to be a good value (with ego overcome and seniors rate applied). Included was a guided bus tour, a narrated loch boat ride to Urquhart Castle (including entance fee), a stop at the Nessie Information Centre, and bus return. A look at the height and steepness of the surrounding hills left me happy I had decided on a tour rather than my planned bike jaunt up, over, and back again.

Upon my return to the campsite, I met Nigel, (London Computer Programmer/Developer), who was doing a more radical version of my ride, but by the traditional route (north/south). He was a much more compact/bare bones biker, and doing longer distances. I will have to shed some of my gear, as I feel I must look like a pedal powered moving van..

Together we headed into Inverness in search of supper (Pizza and a brew), and had good conversations on biking quirks, along the way surprises (good/bad), and the sights seen.

The day itself was a mix of sun, shade, and showers. Finally, with rain heading in, it was off to bed.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.049s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb